Review : A Court Of Mist & Fury by Sarah J. Maas 

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: A Court Of Mist & Fury 

Series: A Court Of Thorns & Roses 

Genres: NA, high-fantasy 

Author: Sarah J. Maas 

Publisher: Bloomsbury (US), 2017

Edition: paperback, 624 pages 

Maybe I’d always been broke and dark inside.

Okay.  It was just way too over my league.

I picked up the second book with excitement since I’d heard so many great things about it.

Things I Liked About It 

– the story 

The story is gripping.  It kept me turning one page after another.  I just couldn’t put it down.  I was like “just five more chapters, just five more chapters” and then I ended up finishing this book in two days.

– world-build 

I’d love to visit Night Court.  It seemed like an amazingly beautiful place.  Every different place was well described that you could feel yourself walking inside.

– the writing 

I love Sarah’s writing, always.  It is delicate and nice, never failing to capture my interest.

– mind-reader 

Daemati.  This is so cool!  I so want to be a mind-reader.  Well…honestly, not for good reasons, I just want to be able to know people and control them more easily.

Things I Disliked About It (spoilers)

– Feyre & Rhysand’s relationship 

The whole book has this 

🎵 when I had you there, but then I let you go

game going on.  Angsty?  (I still don’t really understand the meaning of this word, ha.) Seriously?  Those two were like far beyond teenage and still trying to act…childish.

– the Mate thing 

Ugh…I don’t know why, but I just extremely don’t like this idea.  Mate.  Really?  Like…we’re meant to be?

– mature scenes 

🎵 let’s get physical, physical ~

Nope!  Too…gross.  I actually failed to have any normal meal yesterday.  I felt really uncomfortable and disgusting when and after reading those NA parts.

Characters 

I failed to like main characters due to mature scenes.  Feyre just so desperately wanted to get her hands on other guys, all the time (?).  Tamlin became a controlling freak and Lucien cared more about loyalty than friendship, coward.

Recommendation 

If you’re not a stranger to new adult genre, you should definitely pick up this book.  Good luck not having a heart attack like me!  

That’s all for my review of A Court Of Mist & Fury by Sarah J. Maas.  Let me know what you think.

8 thoughts on “Review : A Court Of Mist & Fury by Sarah J. Maas 

Add yours

  1. We’re sad to hear you did not enjoy this as much as we did – we can however agree with you that the NA parts put us off as well but in the third book (and we hope you’ll read it) there’s more daemati, well at the start anyways and less NA parts and more of the courts lords that are explored! Of course there are parts we did not like but SJMaas’ writing and imagination are always 👌🏻👌🏻 so you can say we’re a but biased..😅😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love daemati 😄 and yes, I’ll read the third book! Hopefully, it’ll be amazing and not so many NA parts, haha. However, I’ll probably read it in September. I’ve got too many summer TBRs. Happy reading to you! Have a great summer!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. We do too!! Glad the bad parts didn’t sway you enough to stop reading it!!😆

        Hopefully the third book lives up to your expectations! We totally understand – we too have a longgggggg TBR!! You too have a great summer reading!😊❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

