Review : The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson 

Andie must learn to embrace the beauty in chaos in this New York Times bestselling novel about friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans.

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.

Future? A top-tier medical school.

Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).

Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?

Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie has her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Unexpected Everything 

Genres: YA, contemporary 

Author: Morgan Matson 

Publisher: Simon & Schuster (US), 2017

Edition: paperback, 519 pages 

I flexed my feet in my too-tight shoes and made myself stand up straight, trying to ignore the rapid-fire clicking of the cameras going off all around me.

From what I’d heard, this book was about dogs and summer stuff.  I was expecting to see a lot of dogs.  

Nah, I was damn wrong.

Things I Liked About It 

– dog-walking job 

However, it’s not really the main idea here.  The story focuses more on friendship and romance and family than dogs.

Things I Disliked About It

– characteristics

Honestly, I felt that everyone had the same personality, only slightly different.  If you ignore the names in the contexts, you surely won’t be able to know who is talking.

– Toby’s texts 

Oh, I was so annoyed by her emoji texts.  Why wouldn’t she just texted in words?

– kid writer 

Clark published his first book when he was fourteen.  And then he became the best selling author???  His works even got adapted into movies.  He should have made a lot of money.  All of his background just didn’t make much sense in the story.  He was described as a boy next door.  Weird.

– the father-daughter relationship 

“Who was my history teacher last semester?”

Oh, oh.  This question came out hard.  I have great relationship with my family.  We went out every weekend.  We chatted everyday, about nothing special, ha.  And I’m damn sure my parents have no idea who my English teacher this semester is.  I just don’t discuss this with them.

– the plot 

The plot is boring and dragging.  Yes yes yes, I didn’t DNF it.  I finished reading it with struggles.  

*My tip of reading this book: you could just read the final three chapters.  👍 trust me.

Recommendation 

I really hope I could give this book ⭐⭐ but I just couldn’t cheat my conscience.  Nope.  I certainly don’t recommend this book.

That’s my review of The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson.  Let me know what you think.

Have a great day and I’ll see you next time.  Bye-bye 👋

2 thoughts on “Review : The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

