Review : A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro 

The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar.

From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.

Equal parts tender, thrilling, and hilarious,

A Study in Charlotte is the first in a trilogy brimming with wit and edge-of-the-seat suspense.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: A Study In Charlotte 

Series: Charlotte Holmes, #1

Genres: YA, contemporary, mystery 

Author: Brittany Cavallaro 

Publisher: Katherine Tegan Books (US), 2017

Edition: paperback, 321 pages 

But I had never wanted to be her boyfriend.  I wanted something smaller than that, and far, far bigger, something I couldn’t yet put into words.

Welcome, welcome, fans of Sherlock Holmes (or Benedict Cumberbatch).  Greetings!  

Truth be told: I’m not a big fan of either Sherlock @BBC or Elementary @CBS.  I watched the first season of Sherlock.  I had no idea what I was doing.  It was so long…and I eventually fell asleep when I was trying to watch S02E01.  Sorry, Cumberbitches.  About Elementary, personally I think it’s more interesting although I still have no idea what they were doing.  Yes.  I admit that I have comprehension problem.  Big one.

However, this book just blew me away!  Yeah!  It makes me kinda wanna pick up Conan Doyle’s books.  I’ve actually read The Valley Of Fear when I was in primary school, but I can’t remember the outcome of it.

Things I Liked About It 

– Watson 

No trouble here.  I’ve watched Sherlock Holmes movies and I’ve always liked Dr. Watson more than Holmes.

When I described my right hook to Dobson’s chin, he (Watson’s dad) took notes with a stifled grin.  Really, with role models like him, it was surprising I wasn’t already in jail.

– story told by Watson 

Yep.  Finally, after a long dreading time, I encountered another book told by a guy instead of a girl.  The reason why I don’t like 1st person told by a girl is because female characters are, most of the time, annoying.

– murder!!!

I don’t need to elaborate on this one.  I like murders.  I need more homicide crime shows.

Things I Disliked About It 

– deduction 

Holmes used deduction all the time because she hated psychology.  Nonetheless, I love psychology.

Recommendation

You should pick up this book if you 

– like Sherlock 

– are interested in boarding school 

– want mystery 

You should probably stay away from it if you 

– cannot stand the main character being secretive 

– found it inauthentic that this story took place in US 

That’s all for my review of A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro.  Let me know what you think!

Have a nice day and I’m going to be enfadada conmigo.  Bye bye 👋

2 thoughts on “Review : A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

