Review : Emancipated by M. G. Reyes 

The good girl, the bad boy, the diva, the hustler, the rock star, and the nerd. Six teens legally liberated from parental control for six different reasons, all with one thing in common: something to hide. 

Now they’re sharing a house in Venice Beach, acting like a family, and living their lies. No parents. No limits. No alibis. One witnessed a crime, another might be a murderer—and one’s been spying on them all.

As they cling to a fantasy of freedom and slowly let down their guards, the past creeps up on them. And when one of them gets arrested, everyone’s carefully constructed facade comes crumbling down. 

In this steamy, drama-filled series, relationships are tested and secrets revealed as lies threaten to destroy their perfect setup.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Emancipated 

Series: Emancipated, #1

Genres: YA, contemporary 

Author: M.G. Reyes 

Publisher: Katherine Tegan Books (US), 2016

Edition: paperback, 384 pages 

It happened like this: Candace needed to leave home and Grace found the solution.

Emancipation.

I didn’t know anything about this law.  I thought the idea of this book was just a joke.  Here in Taiwan, we don’t have this cool emancipation thing.  (I don’t know about you, but I think it’s pretty cool.)  Well…honestly, if I were an American, I think my parents wouldn’t sign this for me, either.  Haha.

Things I Liked About It 

– the story 

There were so many secrets in the story.  While you’re reading, you’re also slowly revealing the truth.  

Things I Disliked About It 

There’s nothing I didn’t like about it.  I’m gonna read the second book in this series because there are still loads of secrets!!!

Recommendation 

You should pick up this book if you

– like multiple POVs told with 3rd person 

– have read The Thousandth Floor and loved it 

– are looking for the fun of digging secrets 

You should stay away from this book if you 

– dislike dramas 

– want to read sweet contemporary romance 

That’s all for my review of Emancipated.  Have you read this book?  Let me know what you think!

Have a nice day and I’ll see you soon.  

3 thoughts on “Review : Emancipated by M. G. Reyes 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

