Review : A Court Of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: A Court Of Thorns & Roses 

Series: A Court Of Thorns & Roses, #1

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genres: NA, high fantasy 

Publisher: Bloomsbury (US), 2016

Edition: paperback, 416 pages 

The forest had become a labyrinth of snow and ice.

Hello, everyone!  Welcome to the review I least expected to write.

That’s right.  I’ve just finished A Court Of Thorns & Roses.  And I’m writing a review.  Hate to admit it, but…it’s kinda a good book.

People who know me might have already known that I’m not a huge fan of Throne Of Glass series.  (I’ve just finished the third book last week.)  Because I don’t like Celaena and Rowan and faeries.

It had been a terribly long time for me to decide whether I should pick up A Court Of Thorns & Roses or not.  I like Sarah’s writing.  That’s a plus.  However, this is a new adult book and I don’t like (or afraid of) the graphic sexual scenes of this genre.  Well, people kept saying how good it was and I just had to read it myself.  I knew that I could totally overlooked those NA parts for sure.

Things I Liked About It 

– the writing 

Sarah’s writing is delicate.  I’m always hooked to her words.  The whole fantasy world was well depicted.

– the story 

First, let’s just say that I’m not a fan of Beauty & The Beast.  Yeah, I went to watch the movie and that was because I’m a huge fan of Emma.  Nevertheless, this retelling combines with faeries stuff is kinda cool.  It intrigued me and made me turn one pages after another without realizing it.  (And I mean it.  I read it last night and couldn’t put it down!  Suddenly, whaaat?  I’m already half way there.)

– the characters 

Each character has their own distinctive personalities.  My favourite one is Lucien!  Yeah!!!  He’s my new fictional best friend!

Things I Disliked About It 

There was nothing I disliked about this book instead of NA parts and Feyre’s idea of having a friend with benefit.  Umm…okay.  

I do have some questions in the end of the book, but I’m sure that the answers will show up in the sequel.

Ladies and gentlemen, I’m here to announce that I’m going to pick up the second book.  (Cross my heart and hope not too many NA scenes.)

Recommendation 

This seems useless since probably most of you have already read this series.  Lol.

You should try this book if you 

– like Beauty & The Beast 

– want to know more about faeries 

– are a NA lover 

You should stay away from this book if you 

– don’t have a nice reading place to read for a long long time 

That’s all for my review.  Thanks for reading.  Have you read this book?  Let me know what you think!

Have a lovely day and I’ll see you next time.  Adios 👋

6 thoughts on “Review : A Court Of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Add yours

  1. Awesome review! Even we were a bit put off with the mature scenes and we’ll have to say there will be more in the second book! However that one is our fave and hopefully you’ll see (read?) why! 😊❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

