Review : This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab 

#1 New York Times Bestseller!
There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. 

In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: This Savage Song 

Series: This Savage Song, #1

Genres: YA, sci-fi, fantasy 

Author: V.E. Schwab 

Publisher: Greenwillow (US), 2017

Edition: paperback, 427 pages 

⭐⭐⭐⭐ wowowowowowwowowowo stars!!!!!

Monsters, monsters, big and small/ They’re gonna come and eat you all 

Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw/ Shadow and bone will eat you raw 

Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly/ Smile and bite and drink you dry

Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal/ Sing you a song and steal your soul

Monsters, monsters, big and small/ They’re gonna come and eat you all 

This is so cute 💛 

I’m so glad I bought this book!  I was so happy when j read it because I loved it so much.  I read A Darker Shade Of Magic last week.  It was nice but this one was so much better!!!  I think V.E. Schwab is becoming kne of my favourite authors.

Things I Liked About It 

– the idea 

The three kinds of monsters in this futuristic world is so cool.  The monsters were all well described in the rhyme.

– the writing 

I enjoyed Schwab’s writing very much.  I’m sure you will, too.

– the plot 

The plot was great and well-built.  There might not be an obvious twist since I’m good at guessing; nonetheless, I loved the story a lot.

– the characters 

The characters are distinctive.  August seems nice.  The thing is I LOVE KATE!!!  She was fierce and rude and she made me laugh while I was reading this book.

August: So, did you get kicked out for lecturing the teacher?

Kate: Even better.  I got kicked out for breaking his collarbone.

Things I Disliked About It 

There was nothing I really disliked about this book.  Well…maybe one thing I wouldn’t do.  Kate’s final killing decision.  I wouldn’t do that.
Recommendation

You should read it if you

– liked other works by V.E. Schwab 

– want to read some original stuff 

Rachel: What are you doing?

Kate: Praying.

Rachel: For what?

Kate: Forgiveness.  For the things I’m about to do if you don’t get out of my way.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review : This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: