Review : Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch


Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Snow Like Ashes 

Series: Snow Like Ashes, #1

Author: Sara Raasch 

Genres: YA, high fantasy 

Publisher: Balzer + Bray (US), 2015

Edition: paperback, 416 pages 

⭐⭐⭐⭐ snowing stars!!!

“Snow above.”

This book has been on my shelf for a long time.  I hadn’t picked it up earlier because 1) I thought it would be like Falling Kingdoms 2) I thought it would be like Graceling.

I love Falling Kingdoms series; therefore, I won’t like anything similar like that one.  However, I don’t like Graceling.  I hoped Snow Like Ashes was nothing like that.

It wasn’t.

Things I Liked About It 

– the story 

The story was gripping enough to keep me reading and not want to put it down.

– the characters 

Meira was so cool.  I wish I could learn to fight like her.  I loved both Theron and Mather.  They were a little different, not so much, but they were both nice characters.

Things I Disliked About It 

There was nothing I disliked about this story.

I’m going to yank his eyes out through his nostrils.

Recommendation

You should read this book if you 

– are interested in high fantasy 

– are new to high fantasy 

– want some massive-secret-revealing!!!

4 thoughts on “Review : Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

Add yours

    1. Thank you 💛 I like to make lists to make the points clear. Haha, I too have growing TBR piles of books. I really hope I can finish them someday. But first maybe I should finish the ones on my bookshelves. (guilty

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

