Review : Made You Up by Francesca Zappia 



Reality, as it turns out, is not always what you think.

Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8 Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex fights a daily battle to decipher what is real and what is not.  And after an extremely unfortunate incident, Alex is ready for a fresh start at a new school where no one recognizes her.  Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love.  But her inability to separate her delusions from reality is always just under the surface, and it could have disastrous consequences for the people closest to her. 

Title: Made You Up 

Author: Francesca Zappia 

Genres: YA, contemporary, mental-illness 

Publisher: Greenwillow (US), 2017

Edition: paperback, 428 pages 

Dad said my hair was lobster red.  My mother said it was Communist red.

It’s a story about schizophrenia.  Alex had this mental illness.  

Things I Like About It 

– schizophrenia

I haven’t read any novel about this illness; therefore, I was very glad that I could know more about it.

Things I Dislike About It 

– what’s McCoy’s deal?

In the story, the kids were trying to figure out what Mr. McCoy was thinking.  He was the villain here.  However, after I finished the whole story, I still don’t really know…?

Recommendation 

I recommend this book to people who want to know more about schizophrenia.  

“Everyone’s interesting if you stare at them long enough.”

That’s all for my review of Made You Up by Francesca Zappia.  Let me know what you think!

Have a nice day and I’ll see you next time.  Bye-bye 👋

One thought on “Review : Made You Up by Francesca Zappia 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

