Review : A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern 


Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes, and learning to forgive. Told in alternating points of view, A Step Toward Falling is a poignant, hopeful, and altogether stunning work that will appeal to fans of Jennifer Nevin, Robyn Schneider, and Jandy Nelson.

Emily has always been the kind of girl who tries to do the right thing—until one night when she does the worst thing possible. She sees Belinda, a classmate with developmental disabilities, being attacked. Inexplicably, she does nothing at all.

Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. Soon, Lucas and Emily begin to feel like maybe they’re starting to make a real difference. Like they would be able to do the right thing if they could do that night all over again. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most?  (From: Goodreads)

Title: A Step Toward Falling 

Author: Cammie McGovern 

Genres: YA, contemporary 

Publisher: HarperTeen (US), 2015

Edition: paperback, 361 pages 

Sheila: I’d get married if Justin Bieber asked me.

Lucas: I would, too.  If it was Justin?  Totally.

What would you do?

Belinda was being assaulted under the bleachers during the half-time of a football game.  Emily saw it, but she didn’t do anything.  Lucas saw it, but he didn’t do anything, either.

Would you do anything?

I guess so.  I guess I would…I don’t know, hopefully I wouldn’t try to be a hero.

Things I Like About It 

– the plot 

The plot was well-designed and safe.  Despite Belinda’s incident, it was a pleasant read.

– the characters 

The characters all have their own distinctive characteristics.

Things I Dislike About 

– Belinda…

She was so hopelessly romantic…to a degree.  And I’m not joking.  She loved Pride & Prejudice.  I obviously haven’t watch the movie.  But I’ve read the book and…that’s just say I’m not a fan of it.  Belinda loved it tho.  She was all about ball dance and getting married.  

Recommendation 

I recommend everyone to read this book.  However, you shouldn’t read this book if you 

– have been traumatised before (this is not joking matter)

– can’t stand Justin Bieber (he was mentioned multiple times as a good model in this book.)

– are not a big fan of Pride & Prejudice 

That’s all for my review of A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern.  Let me know what you think!

Have a nice day and I’ll see you next time!  Bye-bye 👋

Advertisements

One thought on “Review : A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: