Review : The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan 

Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane. 

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives. 

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them — Set — has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe – a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Red Pyramid 

Series: Kane Chronicles 

Author: Rick Riordan 

Genres: middle-grade, fantasy, mythology, Egyptian,

Publisher: Disney Hyperion (US), 2011

Edition: paperback, 514 pages 

*Okay.  Before you guys start to beat the crap out of me, I have a notice to announce.  In my new star-rating system (from 2016), four-star is the highest rank for a fantasy book, so three-star books are not bad.  Please calm down!  I love Rick, okay?

In person, if possible, Anubis was even more drop-dead gorgeous.

Oh, I certainly hope so!  So…I kinda love drawing weird comics.  Like…some weird comics that my friends and I like.  Anubis is one of my character.  My Anubis is definitely not as good-looking as Rick’s Anubis.  My Anubis is a dog-head guy who is very entertaining to his own concern.

Guilty.  I actually only read Percy Jackson & The Olympians series from Rick, but he has already become my favourite author.  This is the second series I read from him. 

Things I Like About It 

– the writing 

I enjoy Rick’s writing.  Maybe it’s not that delicate, but it’s definitely my taste.  It’s simple and fun.

– the connection 

I loved Egyptian mythology when I was a kid (like…ten years ago).  Although I had some minor difficulty to remember the story I remembered.  (Yeah.  I have amnesia.  Seriously, I forget things all the time.)  I have to say that the connection between the myth and Rick’s story is strong and interesting.

Things I Dislike About It 

– 514 pages!!!

Are your trying to kill me?!!!??  I’m a person who like to read books around 350 pages.  I have a tendency of finishing a book in a day or two.  It’s not I’m on a schedule or something.  I just get tired of things very easily, so I need to finish books quickly or I might just DNF them.  (+1 personality flaw).  I…uh…kinda skim through some pages…

Recommendation 

You should pick up this series if you 

– like Rick Riordan’s other works 

– are interested in Egyptian mythology

– don’t have personality flaw like mine 

You shouldn’t pick up this book if you

– are insane!!!  Everybody should pick up this book!  Come on!  There’s a hot Anubis!

That’s all for my review of The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan.  Have your read this book?  Let me know what you think.

Have a nice day and I’ll see you tomorrow.  Goodbye!  👋

One thought on “Review : The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

