Review : Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon 


But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Everything, Everything 
Author: Nicola Yoon 

Genres: YA, contemporary, romance 

Publisher: Delacorte Press (US), 2015

Edition: hardcover, 306

⭐⭐ everything stars!!!

I’ve read many more books than you.

I finally picked up this book after being bombarding for quite awhile.  A lot of my bookish friends have told me how amazing this book was.

Ugh…so you saw my rating up there.  Apparently, I wasn’t impressed.  I was rather disappointed.

Things I Like About This Book 

– the illustrations/charts/forms/notes 

There are a lot of cute things like 👆 those mentioned above.

Things I Dislike About It 

– romance/insta-love

Ugh…so…I was told that in this story, our main protagonist Madeleine had SCID bubble baby disease.  She couldn’t have any contact with outside world.
When Olly moved in next door, Madeline knew that she was gonna fall in love with him.  Yes.  They did fall in love with each other in no time.

– the characters

Of course Madeline would fall in love with Olly.  She only knew this one guy!  She spent her eighteen years in her house!  

– plot holes(?)

Therefore, when romance kicked in.  I was like: WTF?  This book is full of bullshit.  Because if you have SCID, you can’t get anywhere near outside world, let along TOUCHING and KISSING with Olly.

Also, how can Madeline and Olly just fly to Hawaii???  So unrealistic and extremely ridiculous.  Madeline was self-centered.  She didn’t even let her mother know that she was gonna escape.  What?  She thought she was in a dystopia?

Recommendation

I really have nothing to say about this book.  I strongly disliked the plot.  

That’s all for my review of Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon.  Have you read this book?  What did you think?

Have a nice day and I’ll see you next time!  If you’re want the ending spoiler, feel free to keep reading.

Ending Spoiler 💥👇💥👇💥👇💥👇

In the end, we found that Madeline actually didn’t have the disease.  Her mother was the one who had mental disorder.  Her mom was scared to be alone, so she wanted to keep Madeline for herself.

👆💥👆💥👆💥👆💥👆

8 thoughts on “Review : Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon 

Add yours

  1. Well, yikes. I have this on my TBR list and now I’m questioning it. Especially with that spoiler at the end. It just makes the whole thing a moot point, and the fact that this girl was willing to just fly away on a whirlwind (suicide) romance getaway doesn’t seem like it’s a wise thing to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We share the exact same opinion about this book. I think the plot was original, but executed poorly. I would have liked the book better if Madeline had actually had SCID and her mother wasn’t mentally ill. I also didn’t like the insta love at all. It’s not completely the same but I would check out My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. It has similar themes, but the love story and plot are better written in my opinion. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah exactly! I want to know more about SCID. I wish Madeline could’ve show more REAL signs of SCID! I haven’t read My Life Next Door. I’ve just read the synopsis. It sounds like a cute book 😄 thanks for the recommendation. I might read it next month 👍

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

