Review : Broken Skies by Theresa Kay

After the Collapse wiped out more than 90 percent of humanity, the aliens arrived. Known as the E’rikon, they sit within a shielded city, content to ignore the dwindling human settlements. Seventeen-year-old tomboy Jax Mitchell and her twin brother, Jace, are among the survivors, living within the community of Bridgelake.

When a terrified yet defiant Jax watches the E’rikon kidnap Jace, she decides to rescue him on her own. Wracked by crippling nightmares and panic attacks, Jax finds an ally in Lir, a handsome teenage E’rikon who was left behind by his ship. The two of them form an unlikely partnership, with Jax guiding Lir through human territory while the alien promises to sneak her into the E’rikon city. But as Jax’s connection with Lir intensifies, she discovers a shocking secret—one that could have catastrophic effects on humans and aliens alike.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Broken Skies 
Author: Theresa Kay 

Genres: YA, sci-fi, dystopian 

Publisher: Skyscape (US), 2015

Edition: paperback, 276 pages 

⭐⭐ Alien Stars!

I drop to the floor at the sound of the knock, my breath hissing in through my teeth when I smack an elbow against the table on my way down.

This book has sat on my shelf for quite a long time.  The first time I put it back on shelf was when I got annoyed with dystopian stories.  The second time I put it back on shelf was when I got tired of aliens.  (And my hatred toward aliens all thanks for Daemon Black from LUX series by Jennifer L. Armentrout.) I had no idea what got to me, but I finally picked up this book three days ago.

It’s a story about Jax’ twin brother Jace got kidnapped by aliens and she teamed up with one of their left-behind alien Lir to find her brother.

Wow.  I can’t believe I can make a great simplified synopsis.

Things I Like About It 

– fierce female protagonist

Wow!  She was so me!  Strong and violent.  Not in a bad way.

Things I Dislike About It 

– the story 

I don’t really hate the story.  I just think it’s boring because I’ve read this kind of story many many many times.

– female protagonist

And now you must be like WTF are you talking about Remi.  Are you even listening to yourself?  You just said that you liked her.  Now you’re telling me that you don’t?  What’s going on?

So…here may contain some mild spoiler.  Me myself wouldn’t consider it a spoiler since you and me all know what this story will go down.  => There will be something between Jax and Lir.  

And ever since Jax fell for Lir, she totally lost her cool and made rough decisions.  Ugh!

Recommendation

You should read it if you 

– like aliens and dystopian stories 

You should do your best to stay away from it if you 

– don’t want to waste your time 

– have trouble getting along with extraterrestrial creatures

That’s all for my review of Broken Skies by Theresa Kay.  Let me know what you think.

Have a nice day and I’ll see you around.  Bye-bye 👋

xoxo Remi 

2 thoughts on “Review : Broken Skies by Theresa Kay

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

