Review : Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning 

MacKayla Lane’s ordinary life underwent a complete makeover when she landed on Ireland’s shores and was plunged into a world of deadly sorcery and ancient secrets.

In her fight to stay alive, Mac must find the Sinsar Dubh- a million-year-old book of the blackest magic imaginable, which holds the key to power over both the worlds of the Fae and of Man. Pursued by Fae assassins, surrounded by mysterious figures she knows she cannot trust, Mac finds herself torn between two deadly and irresistible men: V’lane, the insatiable Fae who can turn sensual arousal into an obsession for any woman, and the ever-inscrutable Jericho Barrons, a man as alluring as he is mysterious.

For centuries the shadowy realm of the Fae has coexisted with that of humans. Now the walls between the two are coming down, and Mac is the only thing that stands between them….(From: Goodreads)

Title: Bloodfever
Series: Fever, #2

Author: Karen Marie Moning

Genres: NA, urban fantasy 

Publisher: Dell (US), 2010

Edition: paperback, 337 pages 

⭐⭐⭐ fae stars!!!

All of us have our little problems and insecurities.

For example, I’m afraid of what tomorrow will come.  I’m a person who is anxious all the time.  I don’t like change.  I don’t like surprise.  I’m perfectly fine with what I’m living right now.  That is being a college student, reading novels, watching TV series, writing stories, singing song, and listening to music.  I don’t even want to change.

Okay.  Now we’re here for the review.  I didn’t expect myself to pick up the second book of Fever series after I finished the first book.  I must have gone mad or I wouldn’t have bought the second book.  After the second book arrived in my bookmail last week, I thought: oh, god, I’m screwed!  I’m never gonna read this one.  Why did I buy it!?!???

It turned out that my thoughts and my actions were very inconsistent.

Things I Like About It

– the idea 

This whole fae thing is still very new to me.  I think the story is very original since I’ve never read anything like this before.

– fast-paced 

It got me lost in time or…let’s just say that I couldn’t wait to know more and finished this book almost in no time.

– 🇮🇪 Ireland 🍀

I really want to visit Ireland!  The cities and towns look pretty.  The accent is cool too.  (Though whenever I hear Irish accent, I feel that my English is really bad haha.)

Things I Dislike About It 

– death-by-sex thing 

Maybe I’m still not so okay with new adult genre or I’m just different from most of the people.  This got me pre-tty pre-tty uncomfortable.

Fun Quotes 

Mac: Did you kill the inspector?

Barrons: If I were the type of person to kill O’Duffy, I would also be the type of person to lie about it. 

Mac: So did you, or didn’t you?

Barrons: The answer would be ‘no’ in either case.  You ask absurd questions.

Recommendation

You should consider picking up this book if you

– liked the first book 

-want to know more about faes 

– are interested in Ireland, particularly Dublin

You should probably avoid this book if you 

– have been intimidated by NA 

That’s all for my review of Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning.  Have you read this book yet?  Do you like to read NA?  Let me know what you think!  

Have a lovely, hopefully sunny, weekend.  I’ll see you next time.  Bye-bye 👋

xoxo Remi 

2 thoughts on “Review : Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

