Review : Supernaturally by Kiersten White 

Evie finally has the normal life she’s always longed for, but she’s shocked to discover that being ordinary can be . . . kind of boring. So when she’s given the opportunity to work for the International Paranormal Containment Agency again, she leaps at the chance.

But then Evie’s faerie ex-boyfriend Reth appears, and tells her that a battle is brewing between the faerie courts that could throw the whole paranormal world into chaos. The prize in question? Evie herself.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Supernaturally 
Series: Paranormalcy, #2

Author: Kiersten White 

Genres: YA, urban fantasy 

Publisher: HarperTeen (US), 2012

Edition: paperback, 336 pages 

⭐⭐⭐⭐ Supernaturally stars!!!

Oh, bleep.  I was going to die.

This is the second book in the series.  I think I liked it better than the first one.  

In the first book, Evie worked with IPCA to capture unlawful supernatural creatures and found that she was categorised in their system as well.  Here in the second book, Evie had new problems.  

Things I Like About It 

– the idea

The idea about this supernatural police thing is just really unique.  We watched Portland P.D. in Grimm dealing with some supernatural stuff.  However, I’ve never seen a total division playing with just supernaturals.

– the plot 

The storyline in this book went even more smoothly than the first book.  I enjoyed reading it a lot.

Things I Dislike About It 

– BLEEP

Okay.  I admit that BLEEP is a little annoying sometimes.  In case you have no idea what I’m talking about, BLEEP was the way how Evie swore.  Ugh…it’s an inside joke from book one.

The Characters 

-Evie 

I liked Evie very much.  She was fierce and she was nothing like those annoying YA female protagonist I used to see.

– Raquel 

I still have trouble understanding what Raquel really wanted with Evie.  She acted like she loved her.  However, she was sort of using her all the time…

– Lend 

Skinwalker!  His ability was so cool!  He could change into anybody he wanted.  If I had this ability, I’d definitely go rob a bank!  No one will EVER catch me.  !!! Ha Ha Ha !!!

– Reth 

He was the creepy ex-boyfriend of Evie.  He was annoying and creepy as heck.  He was a fey.  And thank you so much, Kiersten.  I’ve never liked faeries since Cassandra Clare told me the untrustworthy of them.  I’m not ready to change my faith yet.  (Yes, that’s also the reason why I have trouble accepting Celaena Sardothien being a fey.)

– Jack 

Oh~ how much I love Jack.  Cannot tell you much here, but I’d like to make an proposal here: “Will you make chaos with me?”

Recommendation

I love this book and I absolutely recommend you to pick up this series.

You should read this book if you

– like the first book

– are interested in supernatural stuff 

– aren’t a big fan of faeries 

You shouldn’t read this book if you

– can’t stand BLEEP showing up once in a while 

That’s all for my review of Supernaturally by Kiersten White.  Let me know what you think.

Have a lovely day and I’ll see you next time.  Bye-bye 👋

🇽🇴🇽🇴 Remi 

2 thoughts on “Review : Supernaturally by Kiersten White 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

