Review : The Game Of Lives by James Dashner


The games Michael is playing have become all too real. Only weeks ago, sinking into the Sleep was fun. The VirtNet combined the most cutting-edge technology and the most sophisticated gaming for a full mind-body experience. And it was Michael’s passion. But now every time Michael sinks, he risks his life.

The games are over. The VirtNet has become a world of deadly consequences, and Kaine grows stronger by the day. The Mortality Doctrine – Kaine’s master plan – has nearly been realized, and little by little the line separating the virtual from the real is blurring. If Kaine succeeds, it will mean worldwide cyber domination. And it looks like Michael and his friends are the only ones who can put the monster back in the box – if Michael can figure out who his friends really are.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Game Of Lives 
Series: The Mortality Doctrine 

Author: James Dashner

Genres: YA, sci-fi, action 

Publisher: Corgi (UK), 2015

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 336

The Game Of Lives is the third and the final book in The Mortality Doctrine series by James Dashner.  James Dashner is one of my favourite authors.  I enjoy his writing very much.  His writing is simple but not rough, easy to understand.  James always had special ideas for his stories.  They impressed and interested me a lot.

I loved the first book The Eye Of Minds.  The second book was just…o-kay.  However I was still very excited to read the third book to see how it turned out.

Things I Like About It 

– the writing 

I like James’ writing.  It’s relaxing to read.

– the idea 

The plot, the idea, how this story was built are really cool.  I’m not a video gamer, but I’d like to try VirtNet.

– the twist 

Oh, trust me.  You wouldn’t even see the twist coming.  You wouldn’t even suspect it until it hit right into your face.

Things I Dislike About It 

*Honestly, there’s nothing I dislike about this book.  Nevertheless, compare with the first two books, this one just didn’t live up to my expectation.

Recommendation 

If you enjoy gaming and reading sci-fi, you should definitely pick up this series.  If you enjoyed the first two books, you should definitely pick up the third book.

That’s all for my review of The Game Of Lives by James Dashner.  To me, it’s a general read.  Have you read this book yet?  Do you like to play video games?  Let me know what you think.

Have a nice day and I’ll see you next time.  Bye-bye 👋

xoxo Remi

2 thoughts on “Review : The Game Of Lives by James Dashner

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

