Review : Wanderlost by Jen Malone 

Not all those who wander are lost, but Aubree Sadler most definitely is on this novel’s whirlwind trip through Europe.

Aubree can’t think of a better place to be than in perfectly boring Ohio, and she’s ready for a relaxing summer. But when her older sister, Elizabeth, gets into real trouble, Aubree is talked into taking over Elizabeth’s summer job, leading a group of senior citizens on a bus tour through Europe.

Aubree doesn’t even make it to the first stop in Amsterdam before their perfect plan unravels, leaving her with no phone, no carefully prepared binder full of helpful facts, and an unexpected guest: the tour company owner’s son, Sam. Considering she’s pretending to be Elizabeth, she absolutely shouldn’t fall for him, but she can’t help it, especially with the most romantic European cities as the backdrop for their love story.

But her relationship with Sam is threatening to ruin her relationship with her sister, and she feels like she’s letting both of them down. Aubree knows this trip may show her who she really is—she just hopes she likes where she ends up.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Wanderlost

Author: Jen Malone 

Genres: YA, contemporary

Publisher: HarperTeen (US), 2016

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 316

I’m wedged into the pantry, between forty-seven rolls of toilet paper and an industrial-sized box of Raisin Bran.

So…we were told that we could travel to Europe.  On page 23, I gladly learnt that I could travel to Netherlands, Germany, Austria, Czech Republic, Italy, Monaco, Spain, Portugal, France, and Belgium.  Wow!  Right?  A trip to Europe, to everywhere I haven’t been in this continent.  Lol.  

Things I Like About It 

– the idea of Europe tour 

Who doesn’t like travelling?  My mother.  No, I mean seriously my mother doesn’t like travelling overseas.  I don’t know why.  Personally, I love to travel, to explore new places.  Italy, Switzerland,  and New Zealand are on my top list now.

Things I Dislike About It 

– the speaking of our protagonist 

Aubree was sooooooo annoying.  She said a loooooooot of things like thiiiiiiiiiis.  Ugh!  Couldn’t she just talk normal?

– insta-love 

The weirdest kind of instalove.  Sam liked Lizzie once he saw the photo on her passport.  (Yes, he thought Aubree was Lizzie.  Can you really mistake two people who aren’t even twins?)

– description…?

I had been so excited about the Europe tour part.  However, I didn’t get what I want.  There are barely any description about those countries.  I couldn’t picture Venice in my mind had I not seen my parents’ old photos.

Recommendation 

I recommend this book if you 

– like travelling 

I wouldn’t recommend this book if you 

– don’t like insta-love 

– are allergic to liars 

That’s all for my review for Wanderlost by Jen Malone.  Thanks for reading.  Let me know what you think.

P.s. There is a small spoiler down below my signature if you’d like to check it out.

Have a nice day and I’ll see you next time.  Bye 👋

Things I Dislike About It (spoiler)

– Sam 

Sam came along to the trip after his grandma fractured her elbow.  You expected him to take care of his grandmother, but you’re wrong.  He spent him romancing with a girl he just knew.  Whaaat?

2 thoughts on “Review : Wanderlost by Jen Malone 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

