Review : Angelfall by Susan Ee

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Angelfall 
Series: Penryn & The End Of Days, #1

Author: Susan Ee

Genres: YA, fantasy, apocalypse, action 

Publisher: Skyscape (US), 2012

Edition: paperback

Pages: 283

“My friends call me Wrath.  My enemies call me Please Have Mercy.”

I’ve only read one series about angels.  That is Fallen series by Lauren Kate.  I honestly don’t get why people dislike this series so much.  I actually liked it…lol…when I was young.

And I’ve only read 2/3 series about apocalyse.  That is Article 5 series by Kristen Simmons.  I liked the first book.  The second book was…okay, but I have no intention to read the third book.

So, here comes Angelfall, a book combined with angels and apocalypse.  My friend Jasmine recommended this series to me.  I’d like to tell you more background about the story, but it was just angels and apocalypse.  Oh, and our main protagonist’s sister got kidnapped and needed to be saved.

Things I Dislike About It 

– apocalypse

Uh…I guess I just don’t like this kind of ‘end of the world’ stuff.  It made me feel hopeless and anxious.  

– weak male character

Our male MC was Raffe.  He was weak.  He was so weak that somehow I thought he was just a decoration in the story.

– action and the writing

I’d love to read some action parts.  However, there were so many action parts with just writing without literary description.  Therefore…the whole picture just seemed messy.

– first-person perspective

Personally, I think instead of using the first-person perspective, it’d be better be written in the third-person perspective.

Recommendation 

Do I recommend this book?  Nope.  I didn’t even write Things I Like About It.  Well, I did finish it tho.  I know, it’s a popular book among book community.  But…since when did I like a popular book, right?  (well…maybe only 25%?) I’ll let you be your own judge.

That’s all for my review of Angelfall by Susan Ee.  I’m currently feeling sick because I’ve already bought the whole series.  Yeah.  I did that a lot.  

Thanks for reading.  Let me know what you think!  Have a nice day and I’ll see you next time.  Bye-bye 👋

2 thoughts on “Review : Angelfall by Susan Ee

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

