Review : Murder On The Orient Express by Agatha Christie

“The murderer is with us–on the train now . . .”

Just after midnight, the famous Orient Express is stopped in its tracks by a snowdrift. By morning, the millionaire Samuel Edward Ratchett lies dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside. One of his fellow passengers must be the murderer.

Isolated by the storm, detective Hercule Poirot must find the killer among a dozen of the dead man’s enemies, before the murderer decides to strike again . . .(From: Goodreads)

Title: Murder On The Orient Express 
Series: Hercules Poirot, #10

Author: Agatha Christie

Genres: modern classic, mystery

Publisher: HarperMystery (US), 2011 ;originally published in 1934

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 315

⭐⭐ stars…

This is the first time I read Agatha’s mystery novels.  And… …apparently, I didn’t really enjoy it.  I know I must be the minority of people who have read her works.

Things I Like About It 

– the structure 

We can see how the mystery happened, evidence found, questioned the suspects…

Things I Dislike About It 

– French sentences 

Okay.  So…despite my name, Remi, which is originally from French, I know nothing about French.  However, Poirot was a Belgian and there were so many French sentences in the story.  I got so annoyed because I couldn’t understand.  Here’s to my lack of knowledge 🍺 

My Thoughts After Reading It

I guess I will pick up another book by Agatha since she had so many mystery books.  Nonetheless,  I’m not so sure I’ll pick up another Poirot series…

That’s all for my short review of Murder On The Orient Express by Agatha Christie.

Have a nice day and I’ll see you next time.  Bye bye 👋

xoxo Remi 

4 thoughts on “Review : Murder On The Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

