Review : Scarlet by Marissa Meyer 

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive. 

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Scarlet 
Series: The Lunar Chronicles, #2

Author: Marissa Meyer 

Genres: YA, sci-fi, retelling 

Publisher: Macmillan (US), 2013

Edition: hardcover 

Pages: 452

4 Scarlet stars!!!

“A street fighter who seems shy?  Are you listening to yourself?”

Wow!  The second book in The Lunar Chronicles series!  I finished the second book!  I’m so happy!  You see, the first time I tried to read Cinder, I didn’t finish it, let alone read the second book.  

In Scarlet, there were more characters being added into the story.  At first, I was afraid that I might not be able to sort it out, to remember all the characters; nonetheless, the way Marissa writing this story made the whole storyline clear and connected.

Things I Liked About This Book 

– plot/idea well-connected 

It’s really interlocking.  The plot is interesting enough to keep me keep reading.  Well…while, Cinder has the shadow of the original fairytale, Scarlet only has the same characters, but totally different storyline.  It’s not a bad thing!

– the writing 

Again, I have to say that I really liked Marissa’s writing.  The sentences are beautiful.

– Captain Carswell Thorne 

Hahaha!!!  I like him so much.  I like his sarcastically funny personality with huge ego.  

“But I’m a captain now.  I prefer the sound of it.  Girls are much more impressed.”

Things I Dislike About This Book 

– failed to like Wolf and the thing he had with Scarlet

He was a big part in this book.  In my opinion, whether you like the main character(s) or not will have great effect on your liking of a book.  And, Wolf…I didn’t like him in this book.  He was super violent, not BRAVE, but violent.  I don’t get why Scarlet liked him so much in such a short time and even after he wronged her.  What a silly girl!  ‘Their thing’ was unhealthy.  Other than this complaint, everything else in this story was great.

Recommendation 

You should read it if you like 

– Cinder, the first book in TLC 

– fairytales, Little Red Riding Hood 

– charismatic fun character like Thorne  

You should stay away from it if you 

– don’t like violence.

– don’t like gangsters.

– don’t like tomatoes.  (Just kidding, but a little hint here: Wolf loved tomatoes.)

That’s all for my review of Scarlet by Marissa Meyer.  Have you read this book?  How did you like it?  Let me know what you think!

Have a lovely weekend and I’ll see you next time.  Bye bye 👋 

xoxo Remi 

2 thoughts on “Review : Scarlet by Marissa Meyer 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

