Review : Anatomy Of A Misfit by Andrea Portes

This emotional, hilarious, devastating, and ultimately triumphant YA debut, based on actual events, recounts one girl’s rejection of her high school’s hierarchy—and her discovery of her true self in the face of tragedy.

Fall’s buzzed-about, in-house favorite.

Outside, Anika Dragomir is all lip gloss and blond hair—the third most popular girl in school. Inside, she’s a freak: a mix of dark thoughts, diabolical plots, and, if local chatter is to be believed, vampire DNA (after all, her father is Romanian). But she keeps it under wraps to maintain her social position. One step out of line and Becky Vilhauer, first most popular girl in school, will make her life hell. So when former loner Logan McDonough shows up one September hotter, smarter, and more mysterious than ever, Anika knows she can’t get involved. It would be insane to throw away her social safety for a nerd. So what if that nerd is now a black-leather-jacket-wearing dreamboat, and his loner status is clearly the result of his troubled home life? Who cares if the right girl could help him with all that, maybe even save him from it? Who needs him when Jared Kline, the bad boy every girl dreams of, is asking her on dates? Who?

Anatomy of a Misfit is Mean Girls meets The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and Anika’s hilariously deadpan delivery will appeal to readers for its honesty and depth. The so-sad-it’s-funny high school setting will pull readers in, but when the story’s dark foreboding gradually takes over, the devastating penultimate tragedy hits like a punch to the gut. Readers will ride the highs and lows alongside funny, flawed Anika — from laughter to tears, and everything in between.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Anatomy Of A Misfit 
Author: Andrea Portes 

Genres: YA, contemporary, 

Publisher: HarperTeen (US), 2016

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 328

⭐⭐ misfit stars…

Pedaling fast fast fast, this is the moment.  One of those movie moments you never think is gonna happen to you, but then it happens to you, and now it’s here. 

Why I Picked Up This Book 

Well, personally, I think the cover is pretty cute.  Hardly would I say something is cute.  I usually tell dogs and other animals they are cute.  Therefore, I so desperately wanted to read this book.

The synopsis didn’t work so much magic on me.  It didn’t really catch my attention since I don’t like to read books about popular pretty girls.  FYI, I’ve never watched Mean Girls.  I don’t plan to anyway.  I’ve watched The Perks Of Being A Wallflower though…I didn’t like it.  Yeah, I know.  Emma Watson was in the movie.  Logan Lerman was in the movie.  But that film was just horrible, to me.  So…yeah.

Things I Like About It 

– the pedaling pedaling part 

The ‘pedaling pedaling’ parts were arranged through out the book.  They are kinda like poems.  I like those parts very much.

– the writing 

I enjoyed Andrea’s writing.  She used a lot of metaphors between the lines that made the story more interesting and funnier.

Things I Dislike About It 

– the plot (Here are some spoilers.  If you don’t want it, I suggest you skip this part.  However, the plot is the main reason I dislike this book.)

1. Annika’s love life 

Annika set her eyes on two boys.  One was a ‘loser’ (nicknamed by Becky, the leader of their mean girls trios) called Logan.  He had a abusive father, weak mother, and two little brothers.  Basically, he was so broken.  The other one was Jared the Popular…player?  You know, that kind of bad boy, good-looking, knows exactly how to win your heart, or your parents’.

Annika liked Logan a lot.  She liked Jared mainly because he belonged to the popular group.  If she was with him, she wouldn’t be judged.

Our main protagonist spent a huge part of her time wondering which boys she should be with.

The thing is, Logan somehow inherited his father’s violence.  He almost bashed a boat-owner to death just because the owner caught Logan and Annika snuck onto his boat.  Jared was no better.

Sure, last time he just jumped me and then turned around and have me flowers but what’s he gonna do next time?  Rape me and then turn around ask me to marry him?

Yeah, she said that herself.  Nevertheless, she still walked around, calling him her boyfriend.

2. About Logan

In the end, he died.  He died for protecting his mother and brothers.  How noble!  He died on the day Annika finally decided to tell him she loved him.  How coincident!  It was like the author wanted me to feel something for him.  I couldn’t.  Annika was the center of this story.  She was the only one stood in the center of this pentagon which had Logan, Jared, Tiffany (a black girl, her coworker), Becky, and Shelli (one of the girl in the trios).  Each of them didn’t have so much performance.  I didn’t know what they were thinking.  I failed to feel sorry or sad or whatever about the death of Logan.  His weighed so light in the story.  It was like…I failed to feel sad when my great auntie’s neighbor’s cat died.  It was a distant thing.  And it was too blunt as if the author really needed to squeeze this drama into the story, which I consider unnecessary.

– the title doesn’t fit the story 

Yeah, you thought Annika was the biggest misfit by the synopsis.  You couldn’t really see anything wrong with her since so many people were more misfit than she was, such as Logan and Tiffany.

Recommendation 

I don’t recommend this book, obviously.  However, if you like to read teen drama, if you like something just suddenly showed up in the end, this book could be your next best friend.  Just saying…

That’s all for my review of Anatomy Of A Misfit by Andrea Portes.  Have you read this book?  How do you think?  Let me know what you think.

I’ll see you next time.  Bye bye bye bye 👋

2 thoughts on “Review : Anatomy Of A Misfit by Andrea Portes

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

