Review : Shattered Glass by Dani Alexander 

A male prostitute, a mangy cat, a murder and a maniacal mix-up that threatens his career, his impending marriage and his life. Nothing is going as planned for Austin Glass.

Austin — seems to have it all. At least on the surface. A loving fiancee. A future with the FBI and a healthy sized trust fund. He also has a grin and a wisecrack for every situation. But the smile he presents to everyone hides a painful past he’s buried too deeply to remember. And his quips mask bitterness and insecurity. Austin has himself and most of the whole world fooled. Until he meets someone who immediately sees him better than he sees himself.

As events unfold and Austin’s world unravels, he finds himself pushed into making quick life-changing decisions. But can he trust Peter or what’s happening between them when each meeting seems to be just a series of volatile reactions?  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Shattered Glass 

Author: Dani Alexander 

Genres: NA, romance, LGBTQIA, crime 

Publisher: Dani Alexander (US), 2012

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 353

⭐⭐⭐⭐ angelic stars!!!

“Nah.  You’re not gay.  Straight guys always chase around hustlers.”

The synopsis caught my attention.  I needed this book!  Normally I don’t buy book over USD$10.  And this book costed around USD$18…Gaaaah!!!

Detectives?  Detectives?  LGBT romance crime story with detectives involved?  Yes!!!  As you might or might not know,  I’ve been writing my own detective novel.  Thus, there’s no surprised that I’m interested in this story.  Besides, our Det. Austin Glass was twenty-six  and hot (I guess?).

The Things I Like 

– the plot 

In my opinion, I think the plot is well woven with crime and romance.  I’ve read some romance novels from NetGalley and found myself wanting to puke badly due to smothering romance and overly clingy lovers.  This book didn’t make me feel anything uncomfortable at all.  Yes, I’m surprised and also joyful since I didn’t waste my money.

– distinctive characters

Each character has different characteristic.  My favourite character is Angelica.  She was the ex-fiancee of Austin.  I love how she being a helpful and nice friend after their breakup.

The Things I Dislike 

Honestly there’s nothing I dislike about this book.  I enjoyed reading it a lot.  Well…maybe there is one thing.  You might wonder whether it was an instalove since Austin and Peter (the former male prostitute) only knew each other for like two weeks.  It wasn’t.  You’ll get the detail if you pick up this book.  😉

Recommendation 

I recommend to people who love romance, crime, and LGBT stories.  It was kinda like watching a crime show mixed with Queer As Folk for me.  If you haven’t watched that ’00 show by Showcase, you could try it.  However, viewer discretion advised!

That’s all for my review of Shattered Glass by Dani Alexander.  Have you read this book before?  Let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading.  Hope you all will have a nice Monday.  I’ll see you next time.  Bye bye ~ 👋

2 thoughts on “Review : Shattered Glass by Dani Alexander 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

