Review : Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard 

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.
That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.  

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Red Queen 
Series: Red Queen, #1

Author: Victoria Aveyard 

Genres: YA, fantasy

Publisher: Orion Books (UK), 2015

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 383

⭐⭐⭐⭐ Red Stars!!!

“You’re playing at the game as someone’s pawn.”

Well…there’s not a specific reason why I bought it.  I didn’t even read the synopsis first.  And I definitely hadn’t heard of Victoria Aveyard before.  I bought it because there were so many people in book community saying how good this book was.  

Despite much praise I heard about this book, I had just let it sit on my shelf as long as it could have.  I had no idea what got into me this morning.  (Probably guilt.  Yes.  Because I bought this book a year ago.)  I picked it up and read it.

What I like about this book 

– the idea of silver blood and red blood 

It’s a really cool idea though I still have a hard time to get the silver blood image.  Hmm…all I can think of is Dread Doctors’ works 👇This one’s Tracy…if I get her name right.  (Note: Dread Doctors are horrible characters from Teen Wolf season 5.)

– the twist!

Whoohoo!  I live for plot twists, baby!  I was like…okay…this book probably can get an average three-star rating and then BANG plot twist!  I definitely didn’t see it coming at all!  

What I dislike about this book 

– the weird fantasy world 

Okay, it’s not THAT weird, but I cannot picture a world that has market, the poor, and the rich a.k.a. royals (kinda like medieval period) has video camera and ID cards.  It’s just…weird for me.

Characters 

Mare Barrow 

She thought she was smart.  However, as we all know, someone can always outsmart you.  One thing here, she was ‘kinda’ two-timing at one time.  Please do not mimick her.

Prince Cal 

Well…in my opinion, this guy is weird.  I’ll talk more about him in the spoiler section down below.

Maven 

He is my favourite character because he is just WOW!  He really did amazed me.

He knows I’m sinking fast, a stone dropping through the river.  And he wants to drown with me.

Farley 

I think Farley is me.  I like her a lot.  She’s sassy and brave.

“You want me to pin my entire operation, the entire revolution, on some teenaged love story?  I can’t believe this.”

Neither could I.  Let’s high-five!

Recommendation

I enjoyed reading this book very much and I’ll pick up the second boom for sure.  Hopefully, it won’t let me down.  

I recommend this book to people who love high fantasy novels and everyone.

That’s my non-spoiler review of Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard.  I’m glad that I picked it up.  Let me know what you think!

If you haven’t read this book, I’m here to bid you adieu.  I’ll see you next time.  If you’re fine with spoilers, then you’re very welcome to keep reading.

spoilers

So I wanna talk about Cal.

What’s the deal with this guy?  

At the very beginning, he took Mare into the palace.  Why?  He didn’t even know her back then.  Later, he grew fond of her.  Yeah, I have no idea why.  After he found out that Mare was with the Guard, he kinda wanted to let her die.  In the end of this book, he was framed by Maven and then he turned to Mare like…hmm, I think it’s better that we stay together.  Sorry ’bout me trying to put you in jail and wanting to have you executed.  

This dude definitely has some serious problem.

“Take them inside, to the king.  He will judge them both.”

2 thoughts on “Review : Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

