Review : More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera 

In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving New York Times bestselling-debut—also called “mandatory reading” and selected as an Editors’ Choice by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again—but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely. 

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is. 

Why does happiness have to be so hard?  (From: Goodreads)

Title: More Happy Than Not 

Author: Adam Silvera 

Genres: YA, contemporary, near-future, LGBTQIA 

Publisher: Soho Teen (US), 2015 

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 293

🙂🙂🙂🙂🙁 happy stars!!!  (uh…I mean, four stars)

It turns out the Leteo procedure isn’t bullshit.

Before I picked up this book, I’ve already read History Is All You Left Me.  You can check out my review of the second work of Adam here.

I’m glad I read History Is All You Left Me first because I kinda like this book better than that one.  It’s just the plots thing and the characters.  I enjoyed Adam’s writing very much, both times.  However, I admit that the second books’ writing is more beautiful than the first one.

The idea of this book is special.  There is this Leteo Institute which helps people forget things and implant false memories.  It seems very appealing.  But …can a Leteo program really make everything better?  Here today, gone tomorrow.  The thing is, I want to try a Leteo procedure.  I want to be happy and , despite all the risks, I’m willing to try it.

The Things I Like  

– Leteo Program 

This near-future stuff is so cool.  I don’t think this technique is currently possible   Or is it?  I’m exposing my ignorance.

– plot twist!

Wow!  Wow!  Wow!  Who would EVER see that coming?  Wow!  How did Adam come up with this?!!!  All I can say is Wow.

The Things I Dislike 

There’s nothing I dislike, cross my heart and hope to die.  Oh, well, maybe some bastard characters.

Here are some quotes I’d like to share with you 👇

“I mean, if Romeo and Juliet didn’t think the other could offer ultimate happiness, the both of them would’ve survived.”

Smart.  I’ve never thought with this perspective before.  It’s actually quite true.

His room smells like clean laundry and pencil shavings.

Do you guys know pencil shavings smell?  I do!!!  And I was surprised.  I was like…haha what a weird description, and then the next moment…oh, I know that smell.  In fact, love it!

Recommendation 

I recommend this book to anyone who love contemporary and a lot of swear words in the book.  If you’re allergic to cursing, maybe you shouldn’t read it, but I still suggest you do.  I enjoyed reading this book and I hope you’ll like it as much as I do.

I think…Adam Silvera has just become my auto-buy author.  👊

That’s all for my review of More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera.  Have you read this book yet?  How did you like it?  Let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading.  Have a lovely day.  I’m Remi and I’ll see you next time.  Bye bye 👋

9 thoughts on “Review : More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

