Review : With Malice by Eileen Cook 

It was the perfect trip…until it wasn’t.
Eighteen-year-old Jill Charron wakes up in a hospital room, leg in a cast, stitches in her face and a big blank canvas where the last six weeks should be. She discovers she was involved in a fatal car accident while on a school trip in Italy. A trip she doesn’t even remember taking. She was jetted home by her affluent father in order to receive quality care. Care that includes a lawyer. And a press team. Because maybe the accident…wasn’t an accident.

As the accident makes national headlines, Jill finds herself at the center of a murder investigation. It doesn’t help that the media is portraying her as a sociopath who killed her bubbly best friend, Simone, in a jealous rage. With the evidence mounting against her, there’s only one thing Jill knows for sure: She would never hurt Simone. But what really happened? Questioning who she can trust and what she’s capable of, Jill desperately tries to piece together the events of the past six weeks before she loses her thin hold on her once-perfect life.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: With Malice 

Author: Eileen Cook 

Genres: YA, contemporary, mystery

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (US), 2016

Edition: hardcover 

Pages: 316

⭐⭐⭐⭐ malicious stars!!!

A girl does what she has to.

Normally, I don’t buy hardcovers.  Hardcovers are heavy to carry, expensive to buy, and expensive to buy.  (They’re so expensive that it’s worth repeating. 👍) However, this book looks so gorgeous.  Look at that cover!  Italy?  Yes!  I’ve always wanted to visit Italy.  󾓩

After the accident, Jill suffered from retrograde amnesia and aphasia.  Retrograde amnesia made her forget the time during her trip/school’s fancy program.  Aphasia made it hard for her to find the words she wanted to say.  Jill lost her best friend.  She lost her memory.  All she wanted was find out what really had happened in Italy.

I liked the writing of the book.  There are two parts telling this story.  One is from first-person perspective, and the other is from media’s third-person perspective.  There are excerpts from police interviews, television transcripts, Let’s Travel!  Guidebook, and more cool stuff.

Things I Like About This Book  

– the truth 

– the storytelling style

Things I Dislike About This Book 

Honestly, there’s nothing I don’t like about this book.  If you want me to name one, then I’ll have to say ‘the teen girl drama’.  It’s not bad.  It’s just…Simone and Jill were teenage girls.

Recommendation 

I recommend this book to everyone!  I enjoyed reading it very much.  It left me in awe.  I was like…WOW when I came to the final page.

That’s my review of With Malice by Eileen Cook.  Have you read this book?  I’m gonna discuss more with you in the spoiler section down below.  If you’re okay with spoilers, you’re more than welcomed to keep reading.  If you don’t like spoilers, I’m here to bid you adieu.  Have a nice day and I’ll see you next time.  Bye 👋

Spoiler Discussion 

I don’t see the BIG twist here since I’ve thought that Jill was the killer from the very first page.  However, I haven’t foreseen that Jill would kill her best friend for the feminist blog.  And yes, what Simone had done was cowardice and hypocritical.  Also, I haven’t foreseen that Jill would just let this go without coming clean.  

This book definitely left me speechless, in a good way.  The title, With Malice, fits this story perfectly.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

