Review : Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout 

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…
Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies… (From: Goodreads)

Title: Onyx 
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout 

Genres: YA, sci-fi, romance 

Publisher: Entangled Publishing (US), 2012

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 421

⭐ disappointing star…

I DNF it at p.268

“Jesus.” Blake rubbed his throat.  “You have anger management problems.  It’s like a disease.”

I finished the first book Obsidian a year ago.  I didn’t like it.  I was totally okay with the action part of the story.  However, I hated Daemon to my guts.

Good thing, or rather, bad thing was that I picked up this book last night.  Finally, I gave the second book a chance.  (Guilty talk: I’ve already bought all Lux series.  What have I done?!!) I hoped that I could like Daemon just like most of the people do.

But I couldn’t, obviously.

The Good 

I guess I haven’t read to the action part yet.

The Bad 

– the relationship between Daemon and Katy 
What the fuck do they want with each other?  I don’t understand. 

Daemon: You’ll break that boy’s poor little human heart.

Katy: No, I won’t.

Daemon: You will, because you want me and I want you.

See?  If they do want each other, why not be together???  Ugh!  All the time, Katy was thinking about how desperate she wants to feel Daemon’s lips.  And they choose to play this weird game, childish game!

– Daemon 

He’s definitely an asshole, an immature fucked-up jerk.  

He beat up Simon because he spread rumors about Katy.  Gandhi said, “An eye for an eye, make the whole world blind.”

I hate how he treated Blake.  It’s really rude to mistake a person’s name purposely.  In this book, this trick went on so many times.  Everytime he referred/called Blake as some other names, Katy corrected him.  Ugh!  Besides, he totally embarrassed Blake when Blake was on a date with Katy.  He always showed up whenever Katy was with Blake.  Can he just fuck off?  What kind of people do that?  Yeah, Daemon is protective, but this is definitely overprotective.  Katy might as well got locked up in some dystopia.

By the way, I really don’t like Daemon called Katy Kitten.  Ugh!  

I had feeling for this book like no other.  I wanted to rip Daemon out of the page and kill him!  I’m not violent.  I swear.  But Daemon triggered my inner killer!  Ugh!

Well…I don’t recommend this book and I don’t know how I’m supposed to finish this series.

That’s all for my review of Onyx.  I hoped you felt the same as I did.  Lol, just kidding.

Have a nice day, TGIF, and I’ll see you tomorrow.  Bye bye 👋

4 thoughts on “Review : Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

