Review : Reboot by Amy Tintera 

Five years ago, Wren Connolly was shot three times in the chest. After 178 minutes she came back as a Reboot: stronger, faster, able to heal, and less emotional. The longer Reboots are dead, the less human they are when they return. Wren 178 is the deadliest Reboot in the Republic of Texas. Now seventeen years old, she serves as a soldier for HARC (Human Advancement and Repopulation Corporation).

Wren’s favorite part of the job is training new Reboots, but her latest newbie is the worst she’s ever seen. As a 22, Callum Reyes is practically human. His reflexes are too slow, he’s always asking questions, and his ever-present smile is freaking her out. Yet there’s something about him she can’t ignore. When Callum refuses to follow an order, Wren is given one last chance to get him in line—or she’ll have to eliminate him. Wren has never disobeyed before and knows if she does, she’ll be eliminated, too. But she has also never felt as alive as she does around Callum.

The perfect soldier is done taking orders.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Reboot 
Author: Amy Tintera 

Genres: YA, sci-fi, rebel 

Publisher: HarperTeen (US), 2013

Edition: paperback

Pages: 365

⭐⭐ reboot stars!!!

“That’s totally not the point.  I’m traumatized.”

This book has been on my bookshelf for hmm…two years…?  I figured that I really should pick it up and read.

I think this book deserves three stars if I had read it earlier.  Now, as I’ve said multiple times recently, I no longer have interest in rebelling-against-the-government.

What I Like About This Book 

– cool idea 

People dies.  Some of them can reboot.  Their numbers mean how many minutes it take them to reboot from death.  The higher the number is, the less emotion you will feel.

– action-packed 

Our female protagonist is a physically strong and skilled girl.  She is capable of putting up good fights.

– fast-paced 

The story is gripping.  It keeps me turning one page after another.

What I Dislike About This Book 

– typesetting 

In each chapter, most story just keeps going on without having a new paragraph.

– the world-building 

I couldn’t see what HARC looked like.  There was no picture.  I’m not talking about a map like fantasy novels.  I’m saying that HARC building is lack of description.

– Wren always thought she was so smart and so emotionless because she was better than human.  

But…if she really was so smart, I don’t understand, why she still fell for Callum?  👆that’s not a spoiler.  Don’t tell me that you cannot see 178 being together with 22.

I recommend this book to people who love rebelling topic and sci-fi dystopian.  If you’ve grown out of this type of story, you probably shouldn’t read this book.


 That’s all for my review of Reboot by Amy Tintera.  Have you read this book?  Let me know what you think!

Thank you for reading, have a nice day, and I’ll see you next time.  Bye 👋 

2 thoughts on “Review : Reboot by Amy Tintera 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

