Review : The Upside Of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli 

Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love-she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.
Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness-except for the part where she is.

Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny, flirtatious, and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker, Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Upside Of Unrequited

Author: Becky Albertalli 

Genres: YA, contemporary, LGBTQIA 

Publisher: Penguin Random House UK Children’s

Edition: e-ARC 

Pages: 300

*I’ve received this book from Penguin Random House UK Children’s through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

⭐⭐⭐ Queen Elizabeth I stars!

Molly Peskin-Suso: crushing on the memory of eightgrade boys.  Am I the biggest creeper in the universe?  (Check yes or hell yes.)

I am a huge fan of Simon.  Well…not a HUGE fan, but I’m a fan.  I enjoyed reading that book.  Reading that book made me happy ✌ I love Simon, so why not try the second book of Becky?

I’ve waited for this book for so long!  It had been on my TBR since I’d found out Becky was gonna release The Upside Of Unrequited in 2017.  I was so happy when I got the ARC of this book!

It’s a story about finding first love.  The friendship was valuable.  The family tie was strong.  (Two-mom kinda made me think of The Fosters.  Haha.  Less TV series, more books!!!)

The Good 

– the storyline is well constructed 

– the writing is very YA, very teenager-speaking 

The Bad 

– she kept calling herself chubby and said that was the reason she hadn’t had a boyfriend yet 

(👆that annoyed me a lot)

– she was so desperately finding love.  like super desperate.  all in her head was about wanting to have a boyfriend and have sex 

(👆that annoyed me a lot as well)

– it was kinda an instalove 

(after finishing this book, I still don’t know what the boyfriend saw in our Molly.)

My Favourite Character

Reid Wertheim 

He had a weird obsession with Queen Elizabeth I.  He was funny and definitely a nice guy.  

I have to say that at first I really don’t like his name because Dr. Spencer Reid is my one and only Reid, but well…clearly Becky could change that.

Dr. Spencer Reid from Criminal Minds

I recommend this book to people who like Simon.  However, I cannot promise whether you’ll like this one or not.  I enjoyed reading it, but honestly I’m a little disappointed.  It was just a general read for me.

That’s all for my review of The Upside Of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli.  I hope you liked it.  

Thank you for reading and I’ll see you next time.  Bye 👋

2 thoughts on “Review : The Upside Of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

