Review : Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner 

Can a text message destroy your life?

Carver Briggs never thought a simple text would cause a fatal crash, killing his three best friends, Mars, Eli, and Blake. Now Carver can’t stop blaming himself for the accident and even worse, there could be a criminal investigation into the deaths.

Then Blake’s grandmother asks Carver to remember her grandson with a ‘goodbye day’ together. Carver has his misgivings, but he starts to help the families of his lost friends grieve with their own memorial days, along with Eli’s bereaved girlfriend Jesmyn. But not everyone is willing to forgive. Carver’s own despair and guilt threatens to pull him under into panic and anxiety as he faces punishment for his terrible mistake. Can the goodbye days really help?  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Goodbye Days 
Author: Jeff Zentner 

Genres: YA, contemporary

Publisher: Penguin Random House UK Children’s, 2017.04.06

Edition: e-ARC

Pages: 416

*I’ve received this book as an ARC from Penguin Random House UK Children’s through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

I’m a seventeen-year-old funeral expert.

⭐⭐⭐⭐ pareidolia stars!!!
The title caught my eyes.  Goodbye Days, to me, to you, to everyone, is a sad title.  I’m a big fan of contemporary with interesting background.  The synopsis suck me right into this black hole, in a good way.  

The storyline is well constructed.  The plot is gripping even though it’s not a solving-murder thing.  It kept me turning pages after pages.  I enjoyed reading this book very very much.

The Victims 

Blake Lloyd 

He had had a dream to go to LA to study more about comedy and screen writing.  He had a nice grandma, Nana Betsy, who raised him up.

Eli Bauer 

He had wanted to attend to Berklee College of Music.  His twin sister, Adair, had loved her brother very much.  You can see that she would never want to forgive Carver.

Thurgood Marshall Edwards 

His friends had called him Mars.  His father is a judge, The Judge.  He had loved comics and he had wished to study comic illustration.

The Supporter 

Jesmyn Holder 

She had been Eli’s girlfriend.  She adored music and she played the piano.  She had talked with Carver a lot about the stories after the funerals.

Here are some quotes that I’d like to share with you 👇

1.

I used to love crying in dreams for some reason — the release of it, maybe, crying in that savage way that you won’t let yourself do when you’re conscious.

2.

“It’s just — like what I was playing unlocked another door in me and stuff came rushing out.  Grief is weird.  It seems to come in these waves out of nowhere.  One minute I’m standing in the ocean, fine.  The next minute I’m drowning.”

3. 

Hang in there.  That’s always helpful advice, especially because it always comes when you feel like you’re standing at the gallows.

Finally, I have one thing to say before I bid you adieu.

I love this book, but I still don’t really get Carver.  I mean, yes, he had texted his friend when the accident had happened, bit that doesn’t mean that he had caused the tragedy, does it?  I doubt that even those family members of dead kids tried their best to put the blame on Carver, or even wanted to see him in jail, that wasn’t gonna happen anyway.  Because, in my opinion, Mars had been the one driving.  You shouldn’t text while driving!!!  Everybody knows that.

Well, yeah.  This is my review of Goodbye Days.  I recommend to anyone who loves contemporary, who loves to read books with sad backgrounds.

That’s all for now!  I’ll see you guys next time.  Bye bye 👋 ~ Wish you all have a lovely weekend.

2 thoughts on “Review : Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

