Review : One Of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus 

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

    Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule. 

    Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess. 

    Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

    Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

    And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose? 

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: One Of Us Is Lying 
Author: Karen McManus 

Genre: YA, contemporary, mystery 

Publisher: Penguin Random House UK Children’s, 2017.05.30

Edition: e-ARC 

Pages: 368

*I received this book as an ARC from Penguin Random House UK Children’s through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*

⭐⭐⭐⭐ secretive stars!!!

“She’s a princess and you’re a jock,” he says.  He thrusts his chin toward Bronwyn, then at Nate.  “And you’re a brain.  And you’re a criminal.  You’re all walking teen-movie stereotypes.”

I was so happy when I got approved to this title!  One Of Us Is Lying just sounds like a good mystery novel.  The title caught my eyes right away when I was browsing the ‘2017 YA Lists’.  After I read the synopsis, I knew that I had to get my hands on this book.

This is a story full of secrets.  Every one has their own secrets.  We all have that top big secret that we don’t want anyone to find out for fear that it might ruin us.  The characters in this book were just like us.  They were vivid and they seemed real to me.

I read this book in one-sitting.  I was hooked from the very first chapter.  The plot is gripping.  The twist is…wow!  That’s all I can see.  I hadn’t seen it coming at all.

The story was told in four different POV 👥

Bronwyn Rojas 

The geek.  She was the brain of this murder suspect group.  She had a sister called Maeve who had cancer.  She was kinda crushing on a mathbraniac called Evan Neiman.

Cooper Clay 

The jock.  He had strong southern accent.  (I honestly have no idea what a southern accent sounds like.) His girlfriend is the most beautiful girl in school.  Her name is Keely.

Addy Prentiss 

The princess.  She seemed to be a nice girl, but appearance could be deceiving.  She had a nice boyfriend called Jake who was also Cooper’s friend.

Nate Macauley 

The criminal.  He had been a drugged dealer and a easy person.  He and Bronwyn had used to be friends when they had been younger.

Simon Kelleher 

The dead kid.  The peanut allergic guy.  He had had this weird app that magically ratted out people’s secrets.  

Recommendation

I recommend this book to everyone!  Either you’re a YA person or not, you probably should give this book a try.  

That’s my review of One Of Us Is Lying.  I hope you enjoyed it.  Do you want to read this book?  Let me know what you think! 

I’ll see you next time.  Hope you all have a nice day.  👋 bye bye ~

Last night he suggested we watch a movie, and we both logged in to Netflix and watched a god-awful horror movie he picked until two in the morning.  I fell asleep with my earbuds still in, and might have snored in his ear at some point.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

