Top 10 Tuesday #1

Hey, guys.  Today I’m joining ​Broke And Bookish for Top 10 Tuesday.
This week’s topic is Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would.  I’ll give you five books I loved more and then five books I loved less.

Books I Loved More 
1. City Of Bones by Cassandra Clare 

I had thought it was a romance novel.  Therefore, despite the suggestion of my friends, I waited till 2015 did I read it.  It was unexpectedly amazing.

2. The Five Stages Of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson 

I bought this book on impulse at a local bookstore.  I liked the description on the back of the book.  However, I set it on my bookshelf for a month.  After I finally recalled the existence of that book, I finished it in a day.  It was awesome.

3. Unearthly by Cynthia Hand 

This book had sit on my shelf for far too long.  Everytime I picked it up, deciding whether to read it or not, I always put it back on the shelf because the description is kinda lame and the cover isn’t pretty.  I’m really glad that I finally read it.  It was brilliant.  I had not seen those twists coming.

4. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

My friend Jasmine recommended me this book.  I was unsure about it since she loves to read books with good romance and I take romance in books seriously.  Which means, if there are too many fangirling, dreaming, physical details…in a book, I will feel disgusted and want to puke.  Okay, enough about me.  What I want to say is, this book surprised me.  I enjoyed reading it very much.

5. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White 

I’ve heard so many negative comments about this book.  I have no idea why people don’t like it.  I love it.  I don’t like faes, but shapeshifter is so freaking cool!!!

Books I Loved Less 

1. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios 

Sasha Alsberg spoke so high of this book.  However, I don’t like this book.  I hate Josh Mitchell because he couldn’t get his shit together.  Besides, after I finished this book, I still had no slightest idea why Skylar liked Josh so much.

2. All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr 

This is a story about WWII.  I thought I like story about WWII, but maybe it’s just The Book Thief or maybe I just like Nazi Germany instead of the whole big picture.

3. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater 

Oh, here we go.  So many people recommended me to read this book.  I had sky-high expectation for this one and I really wanted to like it.  But I didn’t.  I was really depressed that I couldn’t discuss this hot book series with other book lovers.

4. Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

My best friend Megan loves this book so much (and she loves The Selection series which I don’t).  It turned out that I really disliked this book.

5. Throne Of Glass by Sarah J. Maas 

I gave this book ⭐⭐⭐⭐, but I expected it to be better, to be wonderful, to be sparkling.  The reason I didn’t give this book ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ was probably because I’d read Falling Kingdom series first and that is dope.  So far, I’ve never read any high fantasy as good.

Dear people, please calm down.  Those opinions have something to do with expectation.  ‘Books I like more’ doesn’t mean that they all have ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me.  ‘Books I like less’ doesn’t all have just ⭐.

This is my Top 10 Tuesday for this week.  I hope you liked it.  Let me know what you think in the comment box below.

I’ll see you tomorrow.  👋 bye~

3 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday #1

Add yours

  1. Oh The Winner’s Curse series is on my TBR, have been recommended it several times but haven’t picked it up because of the same reason you didn’t. Hope to pick it up soon! What was it that made the book great do you think? x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! I think this book is special because the protagonist, Kestrel, wasn’t physically powerful like most of other dystopian or fantasy female characters. She was a strategist. And that makes this idea new to me. If you decide to give it a try, I hope you’ll like it. 😃

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

