Review : The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski 

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love… 

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. 

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. 

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined. 

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Winner’s Curse 

Series: #1 from The Winner’s Trilogy 

Author: Marie Rutkoski 

Genres: YA, fantasy

Publisher: Square Fish (US), 2014

Edition: paperback 

Pages: 355

May the best gamer win!

!!!4 out of 5 stars!!!

I really should’ve pick this book up years ago.  I don’t know about you, but this kind of title and this kind of cover just don’t normally speak to me.  I’m glad that I listened to my friend Jasmine’s advice.  

I love the main protagonists’ names, Kestrel and Arin.  Those names are so unique and beautiful.  Kestrel bought a slave from the market.  She thought she made a good choice, and then she thought she was wrong, and then, again, she thought she made a good choice.  But was it?  A good choice?  

I love the characters even though they were all very sly.  Each of them had something up on their sleeves.  The only person who was a true angel is probably Jess, Kestrel’s best friend.  Surprisingly, I like Arin a lot.  He’s a good person.  I feel sorry for him being a slave.

Kestrel is a very special character.  She’s not good at fighting, but she’s good at strategies.  This is quite new since I’ve never read any YA fantasy like this.  I’ve met tons of physically-strong heroines but any strategist.

“The Winner’s Curse is when you come out on top of the bid, but only by paying a steep price.”

I love the writing of Marie Rutkoski.  And I love the story of this book.  I would definitely read the next book in this series and I need that book right now!!!  If you haven’t already pick up this book, better pick it up now!

3 thoughts on “Review : The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

