Review : See You In The Cosmos, Carl Sagan by Jack Cheng 

A space-obsessed boy and his dog, Carl Sagan, take a journey toward family, love, hope, and awe in this funny and moving novel for fans of Counting by 7s and Walk Two Moons.
11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his brother, and his dog Carl Sagan—named for his hero, the real-life astronomer. All he wants is to launch his golden iPod into space the way Carl Sagan (the man, not the dog) launched his Golden Record on the Voyager spacecraft in 1977. From Colorado to New Mexico, Las Vegas to L.A., Alex records a journey on his iPod to show other lifeforms what life on earth, his earth, is like. But his destination keeps changing. And the funny, lost, remarkable people he meets along the way can only partially prepare him for the secrets he’ll uncover—from the truth about his long-dead dad to the fact that, for a kid with a troubled mom and a mostly not-around brother, he has way more family than he ever knew.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: See You In The Cosmos, Carl Sagan 

Author: Jack Cheng 

Genre: Middle-Grade, contemporary 

Publisher: Puffin Books (UK), 2017

Edition: e-ARC

*I’ve received this book as an ARC from Netgalley*

New Recording 1

2M 3S 

⭐⭐⭐⭐ macrocosmic stars!!!

I came across this book while I was browsing titles on Netgalley.  The cover is so beautiful and good Lord, there’s a cute dog!  People always say, “Don’t just a book by its cover.”  Well, not me.  I tend to judge a book by its title. (JK) No, seriously, look at that title See You In The Cosmos.  It caught my eyes right away.  After I read the synopsis, I couldn’t wait to read it.  

It’s a story about a boy who loved space science.  A long road trip began (with his dog, and other people he met on the road).  I love space.  I don’t know about you, but honestly, I wished I could be an astronaut when I was a kid.  I always told my friends that I was gonna work in NASA.  Lol!  Aside from my own obsessive reason, this book is cool because it is told in a recording way!

The major characters in this book are Alex, Carl Sagan, Terra, Zed, Steve, and Ronnie.  My favourite character is the dog, Carl Sagan (I’m not that surprised that someone would name his pet after his hero since Taylor Swift named her cats Meredith Gray and Olivia Benson.) because he is a dog and dogs are cute!  Okay, fine, real talk now.  My favourite character is Alex.  He was merely an eleven-year-old kid and he knew well how to take care of himself.  That’s really something 👍 

Here’s an interesting quote I’d like to share with you 👇

One time Benji asked me do I feel bad about not having a dad and I asked him, Do you feel bad about not having a dinosaur?  Benji said he’s not sure because he’s never had one, and I said I feel the same way about a dad.

Jack’s writing is pretty simple and easy to understand (probably it’s because this story is told by a kid, but still I like the writing style).  If you’re a space fan, or if you like middle-grade books, or even if you don’t, I strongly recommend this book to you, to everyone.  You’ll find deeper things in the book as you read further as if you’re exploring the space.  There’s more for you to discover.

That’s all for now.  I’ll see you next time!  Let me know what you think!  Have a nice day.  Bye 😁

2 thoughts on “Review : See You In The Cosmos, Carl Sagan by Jack Cheng 

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

