Review : We Are The Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

​There are a few things Henry Denton knows, and a few things he doesn’t.
Henry knows that his mom is struggling to keep the family together, and coping by chain-smoking cigarettes. He knows that his older brother is a college dropout with a pregnant girlfriend. He knows that he is slowly losing his grandmother to Alzheimer’s. And he knows that his boyfriend committed suicide last year.
What Henry doesn’t know is why the aliens chose to abduct him when he was thirteen, and he doesn’t know why they continue to steal him from his bed and take him aboard their ship. He doesn’t know why the world is going to end or why the aliens have offered him the opportunity to avert the impending disaster by pressing a big red button. 
But they have. And they’ve only given him 144 days to make up his mind.
The question is whether Henry thinks the world is worth saving. That is, until he meets Diego Vega, an artist with a secret past who forces Henry to question his beliefs, his place in the universe, and whether any of it really matters. But before Henry can save the world, he’s got to figure out how to save himself, and the aliens haven’t given him a button for that.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: We Are The Ants

Author: Shaun David Hutchinson

Genres: YA, contemporary

Publisher: Simon Pulse 

Edition: paperback, 2016

Pages: 451 pages 

A novel with scientific thoughts.

This is a story before the end of the world.  A broken boy, Henry, who claimed to be abducted by aliens.

The setting is in Calypso, Florida.  It’s a town by the beach.  I’ve always wanted to visit Florida because the weather seems so nice there.  I’m glad that I was here with Henry.

The writing is very beautiful.  Some sentences are meaningful.  Some parts are profound.  The book got me hooked with just the first page, making me smile like an idiot when I read it.

Let’s Take A Look 

Life is bullshit.

This is probably the best opening line I’ve ever seen.  

I’ll die, you’ll die, we’ll all die, and the things we’ve done, the choices we’ve made, will amount to nothing.

To think in a passive way, it’s true, very very true.  I agrees with it very much.

Your entire sense of self-worth is predicated upon your belief that you matter, that you matter to the universe.

But you don’t.

Because we are the ants.

We are just so small to matter to the big big world.  We are not the presidents.  We are not the entrepreneurs.  Of course we don’t really matter.

High school is like those fishing trips with my dad: I want to be there.  I want to enjoy myself like everyone else, but I always end up huddled on the floor, praying for the end.

Well…this is how college feels to me.  It’s like they say, enjoy yourself in college, dare to have fun, go to parties.  Just so you know, my fun doesn’t equal to going to parties.  That, going to parties, is a torture.

Having choices is the problem.  Everything would be easier if someone told me what to do: push the button, stop seeing Marcus, get over Jesse.  The problem with choices is that I usually make the wrong ones.

Definitely me.  I was in a private high school.  We didn’t get to choose our courses.  The school made our schedules.  When we were in the final year, we got locked up in the big auditorium to study for college entrance exam.  

There are so many people like being in a collge because they can have freedom.  However, I actually like my high school better.  I hate to make my own choices.  I like it when people just tell me what to do, what not to do.

“Depression isn’t a war you win.  It’s a battle you fight everyday.  You never get to stop, never get to rest.”

It’s sad, very, but I totally understand.  Inside my head, there are full of depressed thoughts.  I’m always trying to keep them on leashes.  Once they leak out, today will be just another shitty day.

“If a kid looks like he doesn’t give a shit, it’s not because he doesn’t believe in himself anymore; it’s because no one believes in him.”

This got me wondered.  Don’t people always say:  you have to love yourself first so that people can love you.  You have to trust yourself first so that people can trust you. 

“People don’t really change; they just find something else to give their life meaning.”

It’s beautiful.  Nonetheless, changing isn’t a a bad thing.  You have to change so that you can learn more, be a better person.

“They tell themselves that this is the year things will happen, never realizing that things are always happening; they’re just happening without them.”

This is the so-called New Year Resolution Failed, again.

But you can’t live in the past; you can only visit.

I love love love this sentence!!!  This is the quote KING.

Only, it wasn’t fate.  It wasn’t destiny.  And it certainly wasn’t God.  It was chance.

To meet someone.  Possibly it’s because the narrator is a guy based on scientific proofs.  If the narrator is a romantic person, he’d say…it’s destiny.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars because 

  1. I really want to know what kind of mental illness Henry had.  I want to know what made him abducted.
  2. I kinda hate Henry for not fighting his own battle.  It was really his fault to get bullied.  (Yes, he did stand up at last, but I still think he asked for it.  Being a scientific guy, how could he prove he was abducted by aliens.  What an idiot!)
  3. If you want me to hate Marcus, please don’t give me false alarm because I really like that Christmas card.

I recommend this book to everyone.  You might not have the same crooked thoughts as me.  

Happy reading! Have a nice weekend and I’ll see you next time ~

One thought on “Review : We Are The Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

