Review : Ten by Gretchen McNeil

 

41FJC-yTM6L._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None.Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!

It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine.And things only get worse from there.

With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine?  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Ten

Author: Gretchen McNeil

Genres: YA, contemporary, thriller

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Edition: Paperback, 2013

Pages: 294 pages

*!!!4 out of 5 stars!!!*

I was like “oh damn! slasher movie? no kidding!”

tumblr_nr58952qpO1qij1mgo5_400.gif

 

And I ended up loving it.

My Synopsis:

Meg and her best friend, Minnie, were invited to spend a three-day holiday in Jessica’s house on an island. Unfortunately, there was a storm coming. The electricity was cut off. The atmosphere became creepy. And there was the first victim.

Come on! I believe that you all know at least one thing or two about slasher films. Either they all die or only one survives. Either the killer was killed or hasn’t been found so that we can have a sequel.

The Setting:

Jessica’s House, Henry Island, an isolated island on stormy days.

Our Ten Teenagers:

Meg: Meg is the main character in this story. She might be my favourite female protagonist.

Minnie: Meg’s best friend. She was the kind of girl who got what she wanted.

T.J.: A black guy whom Meg had a crush on since forever. I don’t understand why, in the story, the teenagers said that the black guy would be the first to get killed. I always thought the first one to die would be the blonde. LOL. Just saying.

Ben: It was said that he was Jessica’s boyfriend. However, Minnie was all over him for no good reasons.

Gunner: T.J.’s best friend. He was also Minnie’s ex.

Kumiko: Gunner’s girlfriend.

Vivian: The mean girl(?). I haven’t really encountered any mean girl in my life. Well…maybe one but she was only mean to me.

Lori: The girl who sang…well.

Nathan: He was a bully. Probably the first person whom I hoped to die.

Kenny: He didn’t give me much impression. I only know that he went wherever Nathan went.

Sneak Peeks:

“Ladies,” he said. “Welcome o Paradise.”
If Paradise was two dudes playing video games in the middle of nowhere, Meg was going to take a big old Pasadena on that.

What had she been thinking? She couldn’t date someone her best friend was in love with. That was the ultimate betrayal.

Oh! Meg was so cute! Can you not like her?

Star-Rating & Recommendation:

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars!!! I love it! It’s so exciting and extremely interesting. I recommend this one to anyone who likes thriller with killings.

maxresdefault.jpg

 

Here I’m gonna talk about spoilers. All about spoilers. Therefore, if you don’t want any spoiler. I suggest you leave now. I won’t leave anything unsaid.

The Order:

1. Lori — she hung herself in the house (she was murdered, obviously)
→ the choir, the song, the singing

2. Vivian — she slipped on the slope and back stabbed
→ just simply being mean

3. Ben — failed to breathe. pecans in the water.
→ the pretty blonde guy

4. Kenny — bludgeoned to death
→ the best friend who lied

5. Nathan — arrow through the heart
→ the boy who broke the heart

6. Gunner — bullet in the forehead
→ (i honestly don’t know what he has done. poor guy.)

7. Kumiko — electrocuted by the door knob
→ in chemistry class

8. T.J. — shot by Meg

9. Minnie — stabbed in the neck
→ she was bipolar and, to my opinion, she was very very very mean

10. Ben — burnt in the fire

Survivor — Meg and T.J.

Okay. Question time, guys! I know a lot of you might be wondering: what????? I thought T.J. was dead? Was Meg the killer? How could Ben die twice? Calm down, please. Let me explain.

I thought T.J. was dead?

Yes. Meg did shoot T.J. because she thought he was the killer. However, she wasn’t good at shooting. Thus, the bullet hit his shoulder. T.J. only passed out. He hadn’t died.

Was Meg the killer?

Nah. Meg wasn’t the killer.

How could Ben die twice?

Hmm…because he was the killer? He faked his death the first time. Nobody checked the pulse. How convenient!  The second time, Meg set him on fire and hopefully he was dead.

Why did Ben kill them?

Ben’s real name was Tom Hicks who was actually Claire Hicks’ brother. Claire was a student who committed suicide due to DEPRESSION. Tom wanted to revenge.

That’s all for the review and spoilers.

Happy reading, guys ~ 😀

Advertisements

One thought on “Review : Ten by Gretchen McNeil

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: