Review : Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

wp-1470041394627.jpeg

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Emma Roberts and Dave Franco–a high-stakes online game of dares turns deadly in this suspenseful debut

When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the gameknows her. They tempt her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and team her up with the perfect boy, sizzling-hot Ian. At first it’s exhilarating–Vee and Ian’s fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes. But the game takes a twisted turn when they’re directed to a secret location with five other players for the Grand Prize round. Suddenly they’re playing all or nothing, with their lives on the line. Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Nerve

Author: Jeanne Ryan

Genres: YA, contemporary, sci-fi, thriller

Publisher: Speak

Edition: Paperback, 2016

Pages: 294 pages

*!!!3 out of 5 stars!!!*

Do you dare to join NERVE?

Are you a PLAYER or a WATCHER?

We dare you.

My Synopsis:

Vee never stood under the spotlight. When a chance of possibly being famous showed up, she decided to try her luck. The dares were ridiculous and embarrassing. Vee wasn’t like the kind of girls who did these things. Would she win the prizes or would she just quit the game?

Bookpick:

This book was on my shopping list, but it hadn’t been my top priorities. However, after I discovered the movie trailer, I bought this book immediately.

Here are something you need to know: the dares are different between the book and the movie trailer.
The movie will be out in September here and I will definitely go see it in the cinema. Emma Roberts is one of my favourite actresses and Dave Franco is just cute. The plots seem exciting. So why not?

The Characters:

Vee:
maxresdefault.jpg

I would say that she was a very daring person. The first two dares are fine with me. The others are just not so fine.
She had secretly liked Matthew, a costar of the school play, but he just used her to get close to her best friend Sydney. Poor girl. Tell me about it.

Ian:

screen-shot-2016-05-11-at-2.50.18-pm.jpg

This charming stranger, Ian, seemed too perfect to be true. He was a sweet partner. Could he be just this simply awesome or he had something to hide?

LOL MOMENT:

On the way home, I turn the radio up loud and sing along with a country singer about how she takes revenge on the man who’s done her wrong.

anigif_enhanced-11438-1455621604-2.gif

Taylor!!! Anyone agrees with me?

… Do I need to give out more examples?

Please don’t get me wrong. I love Taylor’s songs very very much.

Star-Rating & Recommendation:

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars. This is an enjoyable read. It’s fast-paced. I couldn’t stop myself from turning the next page and wanting to read the next chapter. I recommend anyone who likes to read thrillers. You might like it as much as I do.

nerve-movie-image.jpg

Happy reading, guys ~ 😀

One thought on “Review : Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

