Review : White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

17455585.jpg

One kiss could be the last

Seventeen-year-old Layla just wants to be normal. But with a kiss that kills anything with a soul, she’s anything but normal. Half demon, half gargoyle, Layla has abilities no one else possesses.

Raised among the Wardens—a race of gargoyles tasked with hunting demons and keeping humanity safe—Layla tries to fit in, but that means hiding her own dark side from those she loves the most. Especially Zayne, the swoon-worthy, incredibly gorgeous and completely off-limits Warden she’s crushed on since forever.

Then she meets Roth—a tattooed, sinfully hot demon who claims to know all her secrets. Layla knows she should stay away, but she’s not sure she wants to—especially when that whole no-kissing thing isn’t an issue, considering Roth has no soul.

But when Layla discovers she’s the reason for the violent demon uprising, trusting Roth could not only ruin her chances with Zayne…it could brand her a traitor to her family. Worse yet, it could become a one-way ticket to the end of the world.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: White Hot Kiss

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genres: YA, urban fantasy, paranormal, action, romance

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Edition: Paperback, 2014

Pages: 392 pages

*!!!4 out of 5 stars!!!*

Supernatural Spin-off? YES!!! Unexpectedly good!

supernatural-misha-collins-jensen-ackles-creation-entertainment-91615

WOW, did I just say this book was good? I didn’t expect it would be good, but this book is…quite amazing!

My Synopsis:

Layla was half Warden and half demon. She had been adopted by Abbot, a Warden, when she was a kid. One day, she got caught up in an alley facing a demon. Another handsome (so as she said) demon sort of rescued her. It turned out that that demon went to her school. Layla lived a live between Wardens and a demon. She later found out who her parents were and why there were a lot of demons trying to kill her.

Bookpick:

I didn’t remember why I picked up this book, but I’m really glad that I read it. This book is full of supernatural stuff. (I freaking love Supernatural.) The action scenes are good and real. The story wasn’t told as ‘the characters are all super strong and they win every fight’.

63e49b27490f9b4dbb2aa9a99f90ae1a.jpg

The Setting:

The story was set place in Washington D.C. I’ve never been there, but I know it’s a big city. I have the basic idea of Washington D.C. thanks for news and TV series. The fictional places in this book are well-described. I felt that I was really there. Adventurous and excited. I’m not talking about Roth’s place.

The Characters:

Layla the Bug: I don’t hate Layla, but her weird nickname from Zayne was pretty horrible. If someone’s gonna call me Remi-bug, I’ll ask them to call me cockroach instead. Layla broke the rules all the time. She was the stereotype main character.

Q: Hello Layla, I wonder how you look like…
A:

Zayne said I looked like the long-lost sister of the elf in Lord of the Rings.

d54af5bc10681fa822ab82212d472fff.jpg
Layla’s possible look.

Q: So…what ARE you exactly, Layla?
A:

“I’m more like a…like a mule.”
“A mule?” he repeated slowly, brows furrowing.
“Yeah, a mule. You know, half horse, half donkey-”
“I know what a mule is, Layla. And I really hope you’re not comparing yourself to one.”

4850107649_StubbornMule.gif
Zayne the Stony: Okay. This gargoyle thing is all new to me. It’s interesting that they were somehow like the police. However, it seemed to me that they killed every demon they encountered. Zayne should really care about Layla like a brother, but he didn’t. (and Hell. why couldn’t Layla see it? everyone could see it) He was very protective and caring.

Serrano-gargoyle.jpg
Zayne possibly looked just like this when he shifted.

Roth the Prince: Astaroth, the Prince of Hell. (and I couldn’t help thinking about Crowley the King of Hell when I was reading it) Roth was the bad boy. He kept a load of weird minds. However, he did seem to care about Layla. I have to say ‘seem to’ because we all know…demons lie all the time.

Q: Hello again mule, I mean, Layla. I want to ask you what Roth looks like.
A:

Total crush material — if it wasn’t for the fact that he had no soul.

supernatural-king-of-the-damned-9d_fwkius.jpg
King of Hell’s son.  Crush material.

I was wondering why Roth didn’t look like this. After all, he was the Prince of Hell. We all know that Crowley was the King of Hell… If Roth looked like this, bang! he would be the so-called crush material.

Q: Hey Roth, you stepped on my foot!
A:

“I’m…sorr-ree.”
“Oh give me a break. You can’t say I’m sorry?”
“No.” He looked me straight on, serious. “It’s not in a demon’s vocab.”

Okay. This is new. I didn’t know that demon couldn’t say sorry. However, it would be super fun to keep telling Roth to say sorry. He had to practice his pronunciation.

Q: Okay. So what are you, really? A Prince?
A:

“An identical replacement.” He laughed humorlessly. “Each Roth before me looked just like me, talked like me and was probably almost as charming. So yeah, I’m a replacement.”

This is the saddest part. It’s sad that Roth wasn’t real or original. Downstairs, they didn’t really care about him. If he died, there would be another Roth who looked exactly like him and talk exactly like him. They just needed another Roth to fill in the ‘Prince’ position.  However, it’s like Roth would never die!  How cool it is!

Stacey: Stacey was a girl who like to talk about boys with her best friend. She was a good friend because she was always okay with Layla being a no-show.

Q: Hello Stacey! How’s your bio class?
A:

“Our bio class just got a billion times more interesting. And hotter, lots and lots hotter. Holy mother, I want to have his babies. Not now of course, but definitely later. But I’d like to start practicing soon.”

You see, Stacey was a little bit crazy, but she was definitely a nice friend. You can tell her that you’re gonna hang out with her every evening and disappear on her after 10 minutes of hanging out.

Sam: Sam stood for Samuel not Samantha. He was a guy with lots of random knowledge. I believe that he and Dr. Sheldon Cooper have a lot to talk about.

tumblr_murwap3W5u1r9ljhqo1_500.gif

Abbot: Abbot was the leader of D.C. clan, as gargoyles’ clan. He was like a father to Layla, but he was very very strict. Like…very.

I made a face. “Can’t we say ‘marry’? Saying ‘mate’ out loud just sounds gross.”
“This isn’t your world, Layla. I wouldn’t expect you to understand.”

Poor Layla. However, if it was me, I’d choose to be a demon instead. Gargoyles look…scary…and super ugly.

Let’s Get Into Some Details:

All human had a soul — an essence — good or bad, but demons weren’t rocking any such thing.

Layla had the ability of seeing souls. She could also take away people’s souls if she wanted.  Soul-eater…Amara?  (Remi, you seriously need to get your mind off Supernatural for a second.)

The eyes were oval-shaped and churned like an endless sea — no pupils. The nose was flat, really just two holes above a wide cruel mouth.

I think we all have the idea of the face…

31006_1248359495365_500_298.jpg
No doubt.  Lord Voldemort look.

“Do you know anything about personal space?”

33vnbzo.jpg

Oh no!!! Cas and Dean just sprang into my mind! I couldn’t get Supernatural out of my head when I read this book. It’s not a bad thing tho.

“Okay.”
“Don’t ‘okay’ me.” I took a deep breath.
“Okay.”
I shot him a glare.

See??? Supernatural fan-fiction? I remember the part where Sam okayed Dean, Dean said ‘don’t okay me’, and then Sam replied with the same okay!!!

I started to respond, but Bambi slithered up and placed its horse-sized head on my shoulder. Every muscle in my body locked up and I squeezed my eyes shut. There was a puff of air, stirring the hair along my temple. Bambi’s forked tongue shot out, tickling the side of my neck.
“Hey, look, Bambi likes you.”

Naginislither.png

Right. There was Lord Voldemort and now we have Nagini. I’m not afraid of snakes. Nonetheless, a big snake shows affection toward me?…uh, no thanks.

Star-Rating & Recommendation:

I unexpectedly gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. It was a good read. I recommend to everyone who likes to read demon stuff and people who like to watched Supernatural.

Happy Reading, guys ~ 😀

giphy (1).gif

 

One thought on “Review : White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

