Review : The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293.jpg

The first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! Discover a breathless fairy-tale romance with swoon-worthy characters, glittering gowns, fierce intrigue, and a dystopian world that will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, and Lauren Oliver’sDelirium.

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want.

Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Genres: YA, romance, dystopian

Publisher: HarperTeen

Edition: Paperback, 2012

Pages: 327 pages

They’ve been telling me that I have to read this series for years. Now here I am. Just finished the first book

breathing

and hate myself for spending time reading something I don’t like.

Yeah…possibly I’m suffering from yet another reading slump or simply reading isn’t so relaxing to me. I prefer watching TV series.
Or maybe it’s because there was an attack in Germany earlier and I couldn’t stop thinking about the current situation of our world. It’s like every week we pray for different places because the attacks will never stop. 😦 Even though there’s no war going on in my country, in most of the countries, we aren’t safe. These events are terrifying.

下載.jpg

Okay, let’s get into the review

First, I’d like to talk about the setting. It’s confusing and not making any sense. It seems to me that it is just our world except the States + Canada a.k.a. Illea has emperor now. (where’s latin america, where’s australia, where’s africa???) Asia and Russia fight against Illea and their European allies. And that Prince is still doing the bachelor show?!!! WHAAAT???

What-Excuse-me-Say-what-GIF.gif

 

Second, I don’t like hierarchy. I get it. Most stories set place in a dystopian world have hierarchy. I just don’t like this idea. People in different levels fall in love but they cannot be together. *eyes rolling* I’m tired of this. Sooner or later someone will rebel. Duh! Always like this.

banner_following_directions.gif

Third, the huge problem of the protagonist. America Singer. She actually lives in America. You see, she comes from Carolina. Her talent is singing. OH MY OH MY!!! Her name is America Singer! She is very pretty, but she doesn’t think so. (there’s no mirror in her house? is she blind?) She always likes to ask people about it just to hear them tell her that she’s beautiful. What kind of person does that?

1452173617-200-2.gif

The Selection:

“The recent census has confirmed that a single woman between the ages of sixteen and twenty currently resides in your home. We would like to make you aware of an upcoming opportunity to honor the great nation of Illea.”

Those sentences simply mean →

After Ben Higgins’ journey on “The Bachelorette” ended with Kaitlyn Bristowe choosing another man, Ben is back — this time as “The Bachelor.” Ben receives advice from former stars of “The Bachelor” — Sean Lowe, Chris Soules and Jason Mesnick — and meets a bevy of beauties, including identical twins from Las Vegas, a gerontologist from San Francisco, a chicken enthusiast from Redmond, Wash., a news anchor from Austin, Texas, and a chiropractic assistant from San Diego. As Ben gets to know each woman, he hopes find love this time around.

the-bachelor-winter-2016-meet-contestants.jpg

The Characters:

America Singer The Two-Timer: I haven’t done with her. There are so many things that make me dislike her. As I said, or as you all know by heart, you can’t read the book when you hate the main character. Don’t torture yourself. It’s not good for your health.

“Even if I wanted to be queen, which I thoroughly don’t, there are thousands of other girls in the province entering this thing.”

Because she’s the main character, she will be chosen! And dammit, already knew that she would want to be the queen in the future.

“I love you, Aspen. You’ll always be my prince.”
.
.
“Yes, Maxon,” I whispered. “It’s possible.”

It’s possible what? You may ask. Maxon asks America if one day she will love him.
This girl is a mess! She tells Aspen one thing and tells the Bachelor the other. You can have love triangle, but don’t do two-timing!!! Hell, just sort your damn feelings already!

Aspen Leger The Officer: A low level servant whom i-dont-know-why has become a palace guard, an officer(? okay).

“If you had a chance for something better than this, and you didn’t take it because of me, I’d never forgive myself.”

This guy speaks before thinking and later he regrets what he has said earlier. See, he urges America to join the Selection. And then, clearly, he goes to be an <i>officer</i>, who has a plenty of free time to be alone with America.

“America Singer, one day you will fall asleep in my arms every night. And you’ll wake up to my kisses every morning.”
.
.
“Maxon likes me, but I can’t let myself really care about him because of you.”

Poor poor officer. Aspen loves her so much. He even comes to the palace. At last, all she gives to him is:
I’m sorry. I do love you. But you know, Maxon is rich. You’re not. I’m going to care about him so that one day I’ll be the queen and we will live happily ever after. I don’t think I need you anymore.

Maxon Schreave The Bachelor: The Prince who is too lazy to find a girl himself. The Selection is a very nice plan. He just needs to fool around to see who suits him the best.

“Or if you don’t think you can love me at all, it would be kinder to tell me now. I’ll let you go on your way, and we can part as friends.”

It’s very nice of you. But naive Prince, you don’t know who your lady really is.
First, she does love you, but she doesn’t want to admit it. Second, she does love Aspen, but maybe not so much as she does to you. She just doesn’t want to admit it. And you just didn’t know it. Third, she’s a two-timer. Finally, of course she’ll choose you because she has live as a Five for so long. She loves the palace life. She loves living in money.

I can’t. I just can’t.

Star-Rating & Recommendation:
I gave this book one out of five stars. I don’t know how to like this book. I know exactly how the story will go, but that is not the way I want it to go. I’m not disappointed though since I didn’t have high expectation on this book.
I don’t recommend this book if you have the same book taste as me, which rarely happens. Besides, it seems to me that most of the people who love YA have already read the book and even, the series.

Happy reading, guys ~ 😀

If you want to know more about my reading taste, feel free to let me know.  I’ll be very glad to show you how weird I am. ;D

One thought on “Review : The Selection by Kiera Cass

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

