Review : Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon

17745735.jpg

DOON…
Veronica doesn’t think she’s going crazy. But why can’t anyone else see the mysterious blond boy who keeps popping up wherever she goes? When her best friend, Mackenna, invites her to spend the summer in Scotland, Veronica jumps at the opportunity to leave her complicated life behind for a few months.

But the Scottish countryside holds other plans.

Not only has the imaginary kilted boy followed her to Alloway, she and Mackenna uncover a strange set of rings and a very unnerving letter from Mackenna’s great aunt—and when the girls test the instructions Aunt Gracie left behind, they find themselves transported to a land that defies explanation. Doon seems like a real-life fairy tale, complete with one prince who has eyes for Mackenna and another who looks suspiciously like the boy from Veronica’s daydreams. But Doon has a dark underbelly as well. The two girls could have everything they’ve longed for…or they could end up breaking an enchantment and find themselves trapped in a world that has become a nightmare.

DOON is loosely based on the premise of the musical Brigadoon, with permission from the A Lan Jay Lerner Estate and the Frederick Loewe Foundation. Follow the journey at http://www.DoonSeries.com

~Destiny awaits!  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Doon

Author: Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon

Genres: YA, fantasy, dystopian, kingdom, romance

Publisher: Blink

Edition: Hardcover, 2013

Pages: 395 pages

*!!!1 out of 5 stars!!!*  DNF at 37%

Veronica had just broken up with her cheating boyfriend.  She was crying in her car at school when that mystery kilted boy showed up.

Veronica’s best friend, Kenna, invited her to go travel in Scotland this summer.

They went to Scotland and heard this intriguing legend about Doon.  Once you cross the bridge of Doon, you’ll be in Doon.  After two girls wore Kennas-crazy-aunts-rings and crossed the bridge, they were in Doon.

It’s a story about a girl trying hard to make her life complicated.

I picked up this book because I have the whole series in hardcover.  I thought that maybe these hardcovers wouldn’t be a waste since my Lunar books are sorta a waste.

Please listen carefully now.  I don’t hate this book.  I don’t.

tumblr_mt804faKJK1rqfhi2o1_250.gif

The Setting:

It was in Scotland!!!  I love Scotland.  I mean…I love every little piece of UK.  Well…England comes first.  I’m obsessed with Britain.  It’s my second home.  Planning: Gotta go back home next summer.   I’ve never been to Scotland, but I really want to go.  I know there’s a lot of astonishing scenery.

scotland-nature-hills-big.jpg

The Scotland was well displaced in this book.  Doon was pretty Scottish.  (Or maybe it’s just that my imagination is quite perfect.)  The village in Doon was awesome!  I want to go there!!!  Scotland is my Scott 😀

preview_scotland-nature.jpeg

The Characters:

Okay…so, the characters are why this book got fucked up.

Veronica ‘Vee’: Let’s just not beat around the bush, shall we?

Quoting from The Five Stages Of Andrew Brawley,

I fucking hate her.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-13014-1389094020-9.gif

The man, now visible, paused and bowed to each warrior in turn.  “Prince Jamie, Prince Duncan.”

Prince Jamie?  A freaking prince!  Are you kidding me?

Seriously, Veronica.  How stupid can you be?  Of course your dream boy is a prince.  Previously, the guide told the legend and revealed the royal’s last name.  Where were you then?  Busy thinking about Jamie?

She insisted Doon wasn’t just some legend.  She insisted Doon was real.  Why?  Because she fucking wanted the golden boy to be real!  Damn this girl!  She had just broken up with her boyfriend.  She didn’t even know the golden boy and yet wanted him desperately.  What the hell was wrong with her?

My stomach bungee-jumped into my toes.  Of course, leaving was preferable to death, but I wasn’t ready to give up on this place…or on him.

Well, excuse me?  He treated her like shit!!!  He put her into the dungeon and wanted to execute her!!!  Why was she so blind fucking stupid?  That guy didn’t even like you.  He was a bipolar.  When he was sometimes nice, he just did it for fun, not for you!

Fourteen days to try to find out why Jamie MacCrae had been visiting me in the modern world and why he now look at me like I might pull out an AK-47 and go Call of Duty on his beloved people.  Three hundred and thirty-six hours to prove to my handsome prince that I wasn’t evil incarnate.

Whaaaat the fucking fuck?????

200_s.gif

Why do you even care about he visiting you in the modern world?  He now doesn’t give a fuck about you!!!  Besides, he’s not your prince.  Yes, he may be handsome, but his attitude makes him become the most digusting thing in the world!!!  Why oh why do you like him so much???  Of course you’re not evil incarnate.  You’re just stupid incarnate.  He is evil incarnate.

Could I just kill her, please?

Kenna: I like her.  She was clear-headed and her brain was normal-functioned, which was good.

“So that’s what all this was about?”

Brrrrrravo~

tumblr_o48n1wck1j1udh5n8o1_400.gif

She got it!  She got it!  She found out that there was something wrong with her BFF.  Kenna was going to have her internship in August, but her fucking friend just wanted to stick to this Not-So-Charming Prince.  They were now trapped in Doon.  For God’s Sake that Prince Duncan was a nice guy.

Vee’d been too busy ogling all the bright, shiny trinkets in the marketplace to notice Jamie shadowing us.  Visions or not, he was far too bipolar to be a match for my best friend.  She deserved a true prince — not some moody poseur with a crown.  Yet if I knew her, his conflicted Edward Cullen act would hook her faster than meth.

How can I not like Kenna?  She was freaking amazing.  She pointed out every point I was thinking of!

Prince Jamie the Evil Incarnate: What was his deal?  I don’t know.  And I don’t care.  If he wants to treat Veronica like shit, then just do it!  Because she loves it!  

I honestly think that Veronica deserved to be treated like shit.  She seemed to be really enjoying her love-at-first-sight theory while the Evil Incarnate didn’t even want to talk to her.  She dreamt as if he would be her husband sooner or later.  Oh JESUS, I don’t want this kind of husband.

However, Prince Jaime had a good side.

Playing sword games with Lachlan, the village kid.

(Thought just called him Prince James would be better.  Sounds more like a Prince.)

Prince Duncan: Prince Duncan was the nice prince.  Well…maybe he would do something unforgivable later in the book, haha.  It was cool to name a prince Duncan, quite special.

Music For The Book:

*Ariana Grande – Let Me Love You

Veronica had just broken up with her ex.  If you’ve heard this song, you know what I’m talking about.

* Taylor Swift – Eyes Open

It is the soundtrack of The Hunger Games.  I know.  But in the lyric, it said, winning battles with our wooden swords.

I gave this book 1 out of 5 stars.  I have to DNF it because as much as I love the setting and Kenna and Duncan,  I fucking hate Veronica!!!  If this book could cut out her POV, it would be good.  By the way, I don’t like the Scottish accent writing in the book.  It’s a little bit annoying.

Happy reading, guys ~ 😀

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review : Doon by Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

