Review : The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

13576132.jpg

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Murder Complex

Author: Lindsay Cummings

Genres: YA, dystopian, romance, sci-fi, action

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Edition: Paperback, 2015

Pages: 398

*!!!1 out of 5 stars!!!*

In this bloody world, Meadow was trained by her father. She had a big brother who cared about her and a little whom she needed to care about. One day, she needed to get a job by killing your opponent.

A Mixture Of All

Lindsay must have been very good at taking notes when she was in school. During the midterm or final, it must have been easy for her to collect all the notes together and make a huge mind-map.

In this story, I can see The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Legend shaped everywhere.

The Hunger Games: Killing your opponent in the room, obviously. A little sister that needed to care about. Blood splattered (but much worse).

e06bb81dfe8fc93806caa232c3824809.jpg

Divergent: Hopping on the train to work. A big brother that would care about you. I will be fearless. = I will be dauntless. Tattoo to show without fear.

MoreTehStupid.gif

Legend: The government. The world building.

This book is like a great review of those three books mixed together. You only need to read this one book. It will trigger your memories of those three dystopian action works.

Main Characters Are Flawed

a) Meadow was a potential serial killer since she really could kill people in the blink of an eye. I don’t get why she saved Zephyr. It didn’t fit her personality at all. She killed an innocent girl for just a job. She killed three guys trying to rob her in the street. I don’t think she was the type of person who would want to save people. She would just simply walk by without second thought.

b)Zephyr dreamt about the moonlit girl. You and me both know that this girl would be Meadow. I don’t understand why he dreamt of her.

My moonlit girl. She’s the cure to my nightmares, the one thing that helps me feel safe when I can’t even trust my own dreams to harbor me.

Zephyr started dreamt about her and thought her as a goddess.

All I want to do is think about her. The girl in my dream.

He thought of her like a woman missing her soldier husband. Funny thing is that all the time he had been believing she was real.

“And if you say she saved me, then maybe there’s a chance she’s been dreaming of me, too.”

Oh, please!!! No one was dreaming about you. He was such a girl!

giphy.gif

Instead, all I can think is I might love this girl.

For God’s sake!!! Just because she gave you her blood????????????? He didn’t even know her then!

DNF at 34%

It was gonna be an insta-love. I knew. I could see it coming. I didn’t want to waste my time on reading something I wouldn’t like.

I gave this book one out of five stars.  I was very very disappointed.

Happy reading, guys ~ 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Review : The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

