Review : The Kiss Of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

16429619.jpg

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia’s life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight—but she doesn’t—and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom—to a prince she has never met.
On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—even as she finds herself falling in love.
The Kiss of Deception is the first book in Mary E. Pearson’s Remnant Chronicles.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Kiss Of Deception

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Genres: YA, dystopian, kingdom, fantasy, romance

Publisher: Square Fish

Edition: Paperback, 2015

Page: 486 pages

*!!!3 out of 5 stars!!!*

I have to say this first. The map is so beautiful!!!

kiss_of_deception_map_thumbnail_iEuTNTX.jpg

Lia was the Princess of Morrighan. She ran away from her wedding. She didn’t understand why she had to accept this arranged marriage. She didn’t know the Prince and that Prince didn’t even bother to come visit her first. She and her best friend, Pauline, went hiding in the inn in Terravin. They thought no one would know about them. The Prince of Dalbreck needed to find his runaway bride. The assassin of Venda needed to kill the Princess because once Dalbreck and Morrighan made peace, there wouldn’t be good for Venda.

I’m glad that I gave this book a chance. Very very glad.

I’m going to buy the sequel!!! I read the first chapter a few months ago and I didn’t like it, so I shelved it on the top shelf and decided not to touch it again. However, due to my summer reading challenge, I picked up this book yesterday and I somehow liked it. Yes, I was surprised and also happy. That means that this book isn’t a waste.

The idea of opening is quite special. Indeed, in old time, there were a lot of arranged marriages. Lia was smart. She made a run. I have to give her a big hand.
giphy (1).gif
Although this is supposed to be a kingdom story, most of the time the characters were in a small town and travelling on wastelands. Which is good to know the life of villagers.

The Princess, Lia: There’s one thing I have to point out. Her giggles. Princesses don’t giggle. It’ll make them lose the stage of Princesses and make them look more like palace ladies or whatever those women are called. She worked as a maid in the inn with Pauline and she never complained about the hard work. However, she thought she was a good liar. She lied about everything, everything, except about her brother Walther. Oh, and by the way, the Princess seemed to be too desperate for someone to love her. Teenage hormones, I guess.

princess.jpg

The Prince: He was a good liar, so much better than Lia. One day, he overheard Lia talking to the inn keeper about how much she hated Dalbreck, everything about Dalbreck, the king and the prince.

“Do I look like a horse, Berdi? I’m not a horse for sale.”
“Of course you’re not,” Berdi agreed.
“And what kind of man allows his <i>papa</i> to secure a bride for him?”
“No man at all.
“He couldn’t even be bothered to come see me before the wedding,” she sniffed. “He didn’t care who he married. I might as well have been an old broodmare. He’s nothing more than a princely papa’s boy following orders. I could never have a morsel of respect for a man like that.”
“That’s understandable.”

He still didn’t show anything the next day he met Lia. He didn’t mention a word. What a good liar!

you-liar.gif

The Assassin: He was also a good liar. He was sent to kill the Princess, but he just couldn’t do it. (Yes. Lame. Might have sent someone who had the guts to kill his family.) He felt that day by day he was somehow drew to Lia. However, Lia didn’t like him that way. As the day went by, his deadline of killing Lia was coming. He came up with a new plan.

 

Let’s Get Into Some Details First

I dropped down into the water and spun, ready to face an intruder. “Who’s there?” I called, trying to cover myself.

I’d like to ask all of you to think of this. If you go for a bath in the woods and you suddenly hear something, would you be an idiot and call out??? It’s just like you go into a haunted house and you call out ‘hello?’ to let killers (or ghosts) know that their prey has come itself. If I go for a bath in the woods and hear something, I’ll run and hide!

She told me more stories of Mikael, and the longing within me grew. I wanted what Pauline had, an enduring love that could overcome the miles and weeks that separated her from Mikael.

Lia was very laid-back. It didn’t seem to me that she was nervous of getting caught. She had lots of time thinking about LOVE. FIY, Mikael turned out to be a guy who went to bar everyday and meet different girls. ← as Walther said. Not knowing how to tell Pauline the truth, Lia lied to her that Mikael was dead. I’m now really want to see what Pauline’s face would look like when she found out that Mikael was very much alive.

“Well, if you were to kiss him, what do you think it would be like?”
“Oh, I think it would taste sweeter than honey….”

So…the girls talked about it for 3 pages. I really don’t care how they fantasised if. By the way, for the scientific information, the kiss wouldn’t taste sweeter than honey, nor would it taste near honey. It would taste as the mixture of the last meals two of them had eaten.

“Walther, when was it that you knew you loved Greta?”
The look that always descended on him when he spoke of Greta settled over him like a silken cloud. He sighed. “I knew the minute I laid eyes on her.”

Love at first sight??? It’s totally the idea of judging a book by its cover. And I don’t buy it. Therefore, Lia’s golden brother wasn’t so golden to me.

“And if one can’t be trusted in love,” I added, “one can’t be trusted in anything.”

I-disagree-with-you2.jpg
I STRONGLY DISAGREE!!! She was just a sucker for love, so she thought love was the most royal stuff in the whole world.

WE WERE LIARS (mild spoiler alert!!!)

The writing style of this book is very special. Mary wrote the story in three aspects. However, in the first half part, you have to guess who the Prince is, who the Assassin is, who Kaden is, and who Rafe is.
LOL, and I guessed wrong!!!
The Princess hadn’t known who Kaden and Rafe were until she was kidnapped.
Kaden hadn’t known who Rafe was. Rafe hadn’t known who Kaden was. And silly me hadn’t know who Kaden and Rafe really were just like Lia.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars. If you like kingdom story, you can try this one. I really need to get the sequel!!!

Happy reading, guys 😀

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

