Review : The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Cover_ravenboys_300.png

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: The Raven Boys

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Genres: YA, paranormal, fantasy, romance

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Release: 2012

Pages: 409 pages

*!!!1 out of 5 stars!!!*

Congrats, Mag! I guess it’s time for me to say goodbye to you.

Blue Sargent was born in a psychic family. She could not kiss her true love or he/she (yeah, who knows if she liked girl) would die. (And I totally knew this kind of trick when I was reading Fallen by Lauren Kate.) This day, her family was doing this psychic thing which was to foresee the future death in 12 months. She saw a guy wearing Aglionby Academy’s uniform. (oh, damn! that school was full of richer’s boys. they all drove expensive cars to school.) He was Gansey. Gansey was one of the foursome with Adam, Ronan, and Noah. Blue couldn’t fall in love and yet her aunt told her that she would fall in love this year. (right, how annoying was that!) How would she feel? What would she do?

DNF 24% !!!

I’m sorry. Not really.  I just couldn’t read any further. I’ve read Shiver by Maggie and I didn’t like it. I was supposed to love werewolf stories!!!  I mean…Teen Wolf is my life!!! So why I couldn’t finish that book? This time I tried another story. FAILED. Still couldn’t get myself into it. I guess I just don’t like the writing style. Or maybe it’s because of the book. This edition is pretty heavy and hard for turning pages. I’m telling the truth. Same thing happened to Shiver.  Please don’t suggest me to buy hardcover.  I know you guys are smart.  You wouldn’t buy a book you don’t like, would you?  Let alone the hardcover.

So I’ve tried two books of Maggie and both time I couldn’t finish the books. I guess that I won’t pick up any of her books again. I’m really sorry, Maggie, but your writing style is just not for me.

I’m not doing a review since I learned not much from just 97 pages. Well…I did read something, but I couldn’t sort the information in my head. I was at the part which Adam stalked Blue to her house and Blue gave the stalker her number (and she was very excited about that). Beware of the big bad wolf, kid! I wouldn’t do that. Yeah, I know he was the Elegant boy. So what? Just give him your number? She and him had only officially met like what? once? Oh, and it was because he freaking came to her house! Moreover, I thought she was trying to stay away from the Raven boys a.k.a. the students from Gold$$$ Academy. It didn’t seem to me that she was trying to stay away from falling in love with guys. She wasn’t even trying!!!

Besides, as one of my favourite fictional character always said,
tumblr_nm01tbGNJ71u8bn4zo1_540.gif

JK. I’m okay with any kind of books, really. I’d like to try new stuff. But this one… …?  Okay, Maggie, I guess maybe I’ll reread this and Shiver in the future. Maybe I’ll change my mind. People change, you know.  But I can’t promise anything.

Happy reading, guys ~

 

4 thoughts on “Review : The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Add yours

  1. I really loved the Raven Boys but Shiver is one of the few series that I could not read and hated and it was so awful for me. But I enjoyed how different this series was. I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea and it’s a shame you didn’t enjoy it. But give up with Maggie Stiefvater if you didn’t like this series I think

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

