Review : Crown Of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

IMAG0453_BURST004.jpg

An assassin’s loyalties are always in doubt but her heart never wavers

Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become the King’s Champion. But she is far from loyal to the crown. Though she hides her secret vigilantly, her deadly charade becomes difficult when she realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. No one is above questioning her allegiance—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then, one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie … and whom she is willing to fight for.  (From: Goodreads)

Title: Crown Of Midnight

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genres: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Release: September, 2014

Pages: 418

*!!!2 out of 5 stars!!!*

Celaena started her assassin life; however, she didn’t really kill any man on the King’s list. She told them to flee and she faked their deaths. This time, the King asked her to kill a man called Archer who had crossed a path with Celaena before. What would she do?

He thought about her like a girl fantasising her crush.

I’ve read the first book of this series in May. It’s been two month till that day. I rated that book 4 out of 5 stars. However, thinking about that now, I want to go back and rate it just 3 stars. Well…enough of Throne Of Glass. I picked up this book because I’d like to know more about this story. And, good thing is that I’ve got what I want.

The world building is…cold. Well, it was winter. Too bad that I’ve just finished Frozen Tides and currently I’m tired of winter. I mean, it’s summer now! I should read something more summer-y. All in all, the setting was nice and clear.

inveraray-castle-winter-from-side.jpg

King Of Ardalan was the ‘King Gaius’ kind of bastard though he didn’t show up a lot in this book. However, whenever his name was mentioned, I couldn’t help but compare him with King Gauis. It’s a surprise to me that there’d be a time I actually like King Gauis more.

giphy.gif

Dorian the Prince was a love-struck guy. He knew that he was over with Celaena and he knew that he should be moving on. He just couldn’t. For all his POV, he spent a great deal of time thinking about Celaena like a girl fantasising her crush.

giphy (1).gif

And Dorian, who had never seen battle, never witnessed the chained lines shuffling their way to the butchering blocks…Perhaps she should be impressed he hadn’t vomited yet.

I’m wondering why the Prince didn’t need to go to wars. Did the King and Prince Of Ardalan not need to go to wars? Did they just sit back and wait for their soldiers coming back? This is impossible!

Celaena the Assassin was DAMN! I don’t like her. She was so weird. While she failed being just friends with Dorian, she walked closer with Chaol. And while she wasn’t with Chaol, she turned to Dorian right away. I’m saying…tell me you all didn’t see this!!! She had ignored the Prince for such a long time! Nevertheless, right after she broke it down with the Guard, she went to the Prince right away.

Celaena reached a gloved hand into the sack and tossed the severed head toward him. No one spoke as it bounced, a vulgar thudding of stiff and rotting flesh on marble.

I can tell you that she was a good assassin (and trickster) but she was pretty bad on being friends with guys.

FSlNxkV.gif

Let’s Get Into Some Details (Spoiler Alert!!!)

First let’s see the best quote!!!

first_prize.jpg

“It’s all just…fragments. Shards of a broken mirror, each gleaming with its own individual image.”

broken_mirror.jpg

This was said by Nehemia who later was assassinated. Her death had become the topic of PART TWO.
It’s so true and such a beautiful way of saying it. Broken mirror with individual image. It’s like a group has been broken and everyone says different lies.

In that moment, after ten long years, Celaena looked at Chaol and realized she was home.

Man-With-Question-05.png
What??? Okay…so, if Celaena realized that she was finally home when she was with Chaol, how could she abandon her house so quickly in the blink of an eye? Yes. I know that Chaol did’t tell her everything, but, in return, Celaena didn’t tell him everything, either. The deception of a relationship…never ends well.

The girl he’d imagined as his wife, the girl he’d shared a bed with for the past week, was utterly gone.

I-have-a-dream-speech.gif
Chaol really did dream big. As his wife??? Would you like to have a assassin as your spouse? Hell no! BTW, those two shared the shortest romance relationship ever , less than a week, despite she calling him her home.

The part I love the most in this book is Chaol’s birthday dinner which was arranged by Celaena. This would be such a great surprise to me as well since my birthdays are always boring. To my greatest amazement, never in a million year would I expect Celaena to prepare an awesome dinner…date. I mean…she was Celaena! It was something Dorian the Prince would do. However, I’m pretty sure that Dorian wouldn’t share a nice dinner date with Chaol.

00ebfc996206e50bf1cb0623aa4f5595.jpg

SO…in this book, we found that Dorian could do some magic,but hadn’t learnt to control it. Celaena wasn’t human at all. She was a fae. (And I hate fae.) There’s just too much information for me to take in!!! Celaena was a fae. Okay, I can somehow understand because she could talk to the doorknob and the dead Queen. But Dorian doing magic??? Why? Why always this kind of plot? The royal kid could do magic and yet the King hated it. *cough*King Gaius and Lucia*cough*

I gave this book 2 out of 5 stars. I’m saying that I’ll read the third book later this summer vacation. We’ll see if I change my opinion or not.

Music For The Book
*Taylor Swift – Bad Blood (ft. Kendrick Lamar)
this is for Dorian — ‘you forgive. you forget. but you never let go.’

Happy Reading, guys~ 😀

3 thoughts on “Review : Crown Of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

