Review : We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

IMAG0416.jpg

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.  (From: Goodreads)

Here comes the review ~

My Own Synopsis

Cadence ‘Cady’ lived in a wealthy family. Her grandparents had an island with four houses. Yes. They were like…SUPER RICH!!!

giphy.gif

The family gathered together on Beechwood island every summer. The grandparents had three daughter. Each one got a house.

we-were-liars-map.jpg

Cadence were especially close with two cousins (Johnny and Mirren) and one exception, the best friend of cousin Johnny, Gat the Indian-American.

The accident had happened in the fifteenth summer. Cadence was traumatised and she couldn’t remember a thing before she was sent to the hospital. Would she ever get the truth? Would she know what really happened?

To be honest, I totally have no idea why this book is called We Were Liars.

Cadence, a drunk-on-love protagonist. She loooooooooved Gat. No reason. I don’t really see a reason here. She just loved him. Every time when the main character talked about Gat, she said:

Gat, my Gat.

This really annoyed me. Trust me, you will be annoyed if you see tens of sentences like this running in this book.

really-annoying.gif

Mummy, a $$$$$ lover with serious issue. She wanted it all and she even asked her daughter, Cadence, to beg grandfather for it, for all of it. She wanted her daughter to look fine, normal, even though she couldn’t be. Her motto was:

“Act normal.”

What kind of mother did that to her kid?

Granddad, a RACIST, a RACIST, a RACIST. I really don’t like the granddad, but I 100% love his money.

Gat, he was the outsider, so it was easy for him to see things clear. He wondered why rich people could just blow money and, right at the same time, there were poor people suffering. I think he was very clever, but choosing to be with Cadence (a.k.a. cheating on Raquel)

Let’s Get Into Some Details (spoiler alert!!!)

costed his life!

     Then he pulled out a handgun and shot me in the chest. I was standing on the lawn and I fell. The bullet hole opened wide and my heart rolled out of my rib cage and down into a flower bed. Blood gushed rhythmically from my open wound,
then from my eyes,
my ears,
my mouth.

tumblr_inline_o6vzq617pF1sr9uij_500.gif
I was shocked. I was like…the story had just started and she got shot and dead?
Nope. That was just the author’s way of describing how the main character felt when her father left her. What the…?

The ending is shocking and extremely unpredictable, to me. I might be a little dumb not knowing that her friends were all dead. Yep. They died in the fire. Mental issue! I’ll say no more. Sorry…already told you everything.

tumblr_n14kdsjOIj1sqs1wso1_r1_250.gif

It’s not that bad actually. I finished it in about three hours or so.

I give this book three out of five stars.

Happy reading ~ 😀

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

