Review : Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder.jpg

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.  (From: Goodreads)

*!!!1 Star!!!*

Oh my god, I’m crying!!!

54a78ad77197d_-_ugly_crying_21.gif
How come everyone seems to love this book and yet I can’t even read it? I’m crying because I thought this series was good (a lot of people told me it was good) and I’ve already bought all the books. Damn it! Damn it! DAMN IT!

54a78ad77197d_-_ugly_crying_21.gif

DNF!!! 26%
Yeah, how can I even read this so-called sci-fi which doesn’t really look like one except for cyborgs. I have so so many questions that I want to know like how did Cinder become a cyborg (and had emotion???), Lunar was another planet or country? So Prince Kai was gonna rule the world? He was good at having press conferences? WTF! (Hitler might be very jealous of him.)… …

giphy.gif

Is it a dystopian or not? I was thinking about it when I read. There was this Lunar (People could live on moon. Good.), the New Beijing (okay…I was having a feeling of The Queen of the Tearling), and Europe (Noted: it’s Europe, not New Europe!).19bf2be4-fa88-422c-8df3-7e6e28797b93.gif

I guess that I remember the original Cinderella a little too clearly.

Adri was an evil stepmother. Sure, no comments. However, Cinder wasn’t so Cinderella. She was heartless in some important way.  (But all emotion up on her stepmother and the Prince.) She knew that she was a cyborg, but she refused to volunteer to help the experiment, simply because she didn’t want to die. Yes, she claimed that she loved Peony, her stepsister and only human best friend. But as much as she loved her. She was relieved that it wasn’t her that had to die. It was Peony’s business. Peony just ran out of her luck.

39415_10150112435083623_254991453622_7732653_2302792_n.jpg

(Loud sighing…)
So…I really really don’t like this book and I don’t think I’ll ever try to read it, but my guess is that I will. And I will read the series. Wanna know why? Because I’ve already bought the whole six books (I know I’ve said it, but do you know they’re all hardcovers?), which costed me an arm and a leg a head and a heart. I’m still crying!!! I could’ve bought a lot of better books. I am very disappointed.

54a78ad77197d_-_ugly_crying_21.gif

1 out of 5 stars.

Happy reading ~ 😀

I will be dealing my heartbreak and out from reading for awhile.  Or in other words, I’ll be watching my TV series… …Yep, I’m a TV fan in disguise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

