Review : Asylum by Madeleine Roux

13597728.jpg

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm—formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline’s twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum’s dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.  (From: Goodreads)

*!!!Oooooh~ 4 Creepy Stars!!!*

Dan Crawford went to a summer camp this summer. (Why me reading all about summer camp?) The student dorm was this old creepy asylum. It seemed…well…down-to-description-ly horrifying and yet interesting to me. Not that I was in a happy mood reading this book. I am sort of afraid of the asylums because they look awful, inhuman. However, this Brookline was so cool! It had so many secrets underground and as much as I’d be scared, I might go there to check it out.

501EichenHouse.png

Insanity is relative. It depends on who has who locked in what cage.

I’d always thought that ghost stories wasn’t my type until I found myself loving The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. To be honest, I like The Name of the Star better. This book is still good. Don’t get me wrong.

I like how creepy the whole asylum was described. It was like I could really see every ward and every secret passage. Well…yeah, it’s an image book. But I saw more from the writing. Besides, Dan’s nightmares really did scare me. I’ve never had those kinds of nightmares before. I guess I will not sleep in a week if I have those kinds of dreams.

doctor_stein_by_serhalu-d35gn5t.jpg

The main character Dan had my thinking pattern which made him feel real to me. There’s one thing really funny but not me,

He tucked and untucked it, and even attempted a half-tucked slouchy thing that only catalog models ever seemed to do right.

1433728623452.jpg

His two friends, Abby and Jordan, well…I don’t know…I don’t really like them.

tumblr_nf0xo550zY1tq4of6o1_500.gif

Jordan was indeed a little bit too weird because he liked to keep things to himself. Nevertheless, he could somehow be the hero on a rescue team.

tumblr_lln90ab1aj1qaowel.gif

About Abby, well…she made me feel uncomfortable because she didn’t tell why she clung onto the forehead-scarred girl at first. I felt sick. Moreover, she kept wanting to go down the basement because she always said,

“It’s so sad in here.”

Oh, please! It’s not sad, Abby. Don’t you know how to use adjectives? It’s CREEPY in here!!!

Let’s Get Into Some Details (spoiler alert!!!)

Dennis Heimline, the Sculptor, had been a serial killer who always put his victims into sculptures. (I’ve seen this kind of crimes on Criminal Minds. Yep.)

Felix, Felix, welcome! The weirdest roommate a guy could ever have. A perfect guest for this kind of summer dorm.  From the first start, I knew something was wrong about him. He acted all so business serious style, fake, cold, and distance.

If someone tells you you’re crazy enough times, eventually it becomes true.

I think it’s quite true. When people tell you that you’re crazy, you want to find out the reasons why they say so. When you are finding the reasons, you’re slowly walking into the trap of craziness.

200_s.gif

Daniel Crawford. This Daniel isn’t our protagonist. He was the warden of this asylum and he was a cruel man. I personally think that he was as creepy as the asylum itself.

Aaaah…I still can’t spoil this book because I hope you guys can go read it! It’s creepy, fine, I’ll use another word, SCARY from the inside. A pretty good chill for your baking hot summer, LOL!

I give this book 4 out of 5 stars. I’ll definitely read the second book. But as I mentioned, I like The Name of the Star better. Is it because of London? Ha ha, maybe, I won’t tell.

Happy reading ~ 😀

It’s now so hot.  I’m boiling!!!  Gaaaaaaaaah.

One thought on “Review : Asylum by Madeleine Roux

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

