Review : Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

nickandnorah-1.jpg

It all starts when Nick asks Norah to be his girlfriend for five minutes. He only needs five minutes to avoid his ex-girlfriend, who’s just walked in to his band’s show. With a new guy. And then, with one kiss, Nick and Norah are off on an adventure set against the backdrop of New York City–and smack in the middle of all the joy, anxiety, confusion, and excitement of a first date.
This he said/she said romance told by YA stars Rachel Cohn and David Levithan is a sexy, funny roller coaster of a story about one date over one very long night, with two teenagers, both recovering from broken hearts, who are just trying to figure out who they want to be–and where the next great band is playing.
Told in alternating chapters, teeming with music references, humor, angst, and endearing side characters, this is a love story you’ll wish were your very own. Working together for the first time, Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have combined forces to create a book that is sure to grab readers of all ages and never let them go.  (From: Goodreads)

You never know where the night will take you.

*!!!2 Disappointing Stars!!!*

So I, this random bassist in an average queercore band, turn to this girl in flannel who I don’t even know and say:

“I know this is going to sound strange, but would you mind being my girlfriend for the next five minutes?”

I’m absolutely so sorry for Rachel and David.  I believe it’s just because this story doesn’t suit me.

The guy sitting in the driver side of the van says, “Hi.  I’m Thom.  With an ‘h’.”

I tell him, “I’m Gnorah.  With a ‘g’.  The ‘g’ is silent.  Like ‘gnome’.”

“Really?” Thom says.

Indeed, there are loads of funny plots in this book.  You can see those teenagers’ weird jokes.  And you can’t help but laugh along.

“Wanna watch some nuns making out?”

Am I even speaking out loud?

“Maybe see if E.T. is up for a threeway?”

My favourite character isn’t any of those two.  I like Tris.  At first, I didn’t like her, but I figured that she wasn’t so bad.  She is quite thoughtful, to be honest.

I know we’re all following the same yellow brick road, looking for that ultimate band, that ultimate night to be remembered.

Normally, I don’t trash books.  But this time?  I’m so sorry.  I feel like I need to do it.

“Did you see her?” she asks.  And at first I want to ask who.  But then I know, and I say no, and I ask, “Did you see him?”

She turns ten degrees away from me, back toward the noise and answers yes.

Let’s just be clear.  It’s a one-night-stand story but not like your typical ones.  The main line of this book is just trying to convince you that it’s not just a one-night-stand.  (And also, of course, two teenagers found loads of explanation on things to convince themselves that it wasn’t just a one-night-stand.)

But I guess you don’t see the planets when you’re staring at the sun.  You just get blinded.

Those two thought they had the same crappy taste of music and they were soulmates.  Come on!  You believe that?  I think I really need to quote Meghan Trainor’s song right now: we know that shit ain’t real.  come on now, make it stop!  Being each other’s rebounds and feeling happy?

I whisper in his ear, “I promise I will never break your heart.”

No! DON’T!  Don’t promise some stupid thing like that because right when you are making the promise, you are breaking his heart.  Silly duo thought they knew each other so well just overnight, a few hours.  Damn!  Such schmucks! You will never get to really know a person!

I know this should be a YA romance but, still, sorry, I don’t buy it!!!  It just doesn’t feel real.  You don’t just say “I Want To Hold Your Hand” and dream about getting into his/her pants all night!!!  It’s just not right and not true!

Happy reading ~ 😀

One thought on “Review : Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

