Review : Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

9680718.jpg

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.

Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is.

If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.  (From: Goodreads)

Well…if Obsidian had full 5 stars, then this book would have 3.5-4 stars

So why this book only has 2 stars? Ahem (clearing throat), I only gave Obsidian 3 stars, but I can say that I enjoyed reading Obsidian more than this one.

This story is about a girl named Alexandria, not Alexandra, who liked people to call her Alex. She was very rebellious or you can say that she was totally out of control. She did whatever she wanted. She didn’t care what other people said. When she wanted it, she would try everything to get it. She just didn’t really care about her friends.(?) Caleb had to take risk for her. And Aiden got worried as hell. However, she still didn’t care about them.

f5gUA.gif

This story is about killing daimons (WTF are those?). I haven’t read Vampire Academy before, but I know that many people say that this book is similar to VA. Right. Daimons and aether sound very vampire and blood to me.

I picked up this book because it has set on my shelf for too long, so I really need to read it. Besides, this book isn’t thick. It could be finished easily.

Alexandria “Alex” Andros, the rebellious main character.

9215eb5fc720f83fbc5425ab45e78681.jpg

I’d be super-pissed in the afterlife if I died a virgin in this craphole.

She was thinking this NOW? She was fighting with daimons then! And all she thought was that?

40-year-old-virgin-40-1439899681.gif

There was amoment when no one moved in the room, not even me,. Then I smiled at her; right before I grabbed a handful of copper hair and yanked her out of the chair.

See? Alex was totally out of control. She really needed to take emotion management courses.

Aiden St. Delphi, the i-couldn’t-be-your-boyfriend-because-i-was-taught-to-be-a-racist-but-i-really-want-to close friend. And one more thing, his name ‘St. Delphi’ kept making me think of ‘St. Clair’. Wait…Aiden was 20 and almost 21!

4c6c22d5524349d3e86de7974b80cb77.jpg

“I can work with her. It wouldn’t interfere with my duties.”

Oh, it sounded that he wanted this position just a little too much. (clapping hands) Very enthusiastic. It is predictable.

Hermione_-_hand_raise.gif

“No. I think that because I remember you.”
My words seemed to catch him off guard. “How? We didn’t share any classes or schedules.”
……
“I remember you.”
I scrunched up my face. “What?”
The grin increased to a full smile. And…oh, man. He had dimples. The air in my lungs died. “I remember you, too.”

So, Aiden, do you or do you not remember her? He was being such a girl at that moment. Only girl would say something like that to their crushes.

eye-roll-in-motion-3.gif

Caleb Nicolo, the waaaaaaaaaay too good-looking best friend. Too bad that I cannot find a person who fits his traits. Below is a picture of Caleb being 28, LOL.

men-dark-blonde-hair.jpg

Caleb Nicolo. Tall, blond, and all charming smile, Caleb had been my partner in dysfunction when I’d been at the Covenant.

Seth, the Apollyon, the annoying you-and-i-should-be-together guy. I really hate about his pony tail. If he could just have his hair cut like this, he would be so charming.

9814892debc34ec0f95f8e1566b95319.jpg

“Maybe…or maybe not. Want to hear something strange?”
I glanced around, looking for an escape. My stomach did the icky twisty thing again. “Not really.”
He tucked the loose strands of hair behind his ear. “I knew you were here. Not you, so to speak. But I knew someone–someone different. I felt it outside, before I entered the lobby. It was like a magnetic pull. I zeroed in on you immediately.”

Seth is seriously very very annoying…but still hot.

Lea Samos, the gorgeous mean girl. Almost in every story, there’s always this mean girl and she’s always prettier than our main character.

c528d95d16802e8ce6b6e7dc1681df95.jpg

Jackson Manos. I know. I know. He didn’t show up much. But he was described as a damn handsome guy! Well…he shouldn’t smile like this though. He’s a douche, so he should smile more…dangerous.

mexican-man.jpg

Dark hair parted down the middle, a body made just for girls to drool over, and equally dark, sexy eyes.

Let’s get down to business! (spoiler alert!!!)

A second later, Aiden opened the door to my dorm. All six and half feet of him came to an abrupt stop the moment he saw me. Surprise flickered over his face as he stared at the fresh version of me.
What can I say? I cleaned up nicely.

First, Aiden, that girl was just taking a shower. You should knock and ‘wait for her to open the door for you’! What if she was still naked? Second, Aiden, you shouldn’t show so much surprise as if she just turned into Venus from Medusa. Third, Alex, keep down your pride for a moment, okay?

zBvthj2.jpg

“There are going to be rumors–ridiculous rumors about why your mother left. Why you didn’t come back. You can’t fight every single person who upsets you.”
I tipped my head to the side. “I could try.”

This is what Alex is. A natural talk-back queen.

ed5a04ec2ef17dcb4624b30fa1e5da81153d08314e96be8ea8e62489f7a053f1.gif

The hand that I tapped reached up and clasped mine. I froze as he threaded his fingers through mine. “I’m what?”
Beautiful. Kind. Patient. Perfect. I said none of those things. Instead, I stared at his fingers, wondering if he knew he was holding my hand. “You’re always so…”
His thumb moved over the top of my hand. The balm made his fingers cool and smooth. “What?”

There first connection was taken place at…a small medical supply room.

Okay…so there would be a part later in this book saying that Aiden played the guitar sometimes. Therefore, Aiden’s fingers couldn’t be smooth unless the guitar at his house was just for show, to let girls, who like guys playing guitars, such as Alex, fall for him easily. Ah…my bad, Alex had already fallen for him.

Not only had I punched a pure-blood in the face, I’d also kissed him. Oh…oh, man.  My cheeks flushed; my entire body flushed.
Aiden stood slowly. “It’s all right.” His voice rasped. “These things happen…when you’re feeling a lot of stress.”

First, we can indeed see that Alex might suffer from bipolar and she was violent as well. Second, we can see what an idiot Aiden was. His explanation for these things was STRESS? When I feel a lot of stress, I listen to music, I read books, I go out have a walk, I play with my dog, but I’ve never beat someone and then kissed him afterward.

idiot-300x2251.gif

“If…your parents had been turned, what would you have done?”
Aiden paused before he answered. “I would’ve hunted them down. Alex, they wouldn’t have wanted that kind of life, to lose all their morals and ideals–to kill. They wouldn’t have wanted that.”

Easy for you to say, Aiden. It wasn’t your parents that was turned to daimons. And he could make wild reply since his parents had been dead for a long long time. He wouldn’t need to face this situation himself.

5k9q0Md.gif

I guess I will still read the sequels, but only when I was bored to death or want to be a critical reviewer just for fun.

Happy reading, guys~

3 thoughts on “Review : Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

