Review : I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

sun_375w.jpg

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.  (From: Goodreads)

DNF!!!

I’ve only read sixty pages and I cannot force myself to read any more pages. This is the first book that I read so less pages. Well…there’s always a first time doing something

My-Big-Duh.jpg

I don’t like the writing style at all. Yes, I haven’t read The Sky Is Everywhere. If I had already read it, I probably wouldn’t have picked up this book. The writing style bored/irritated me. I just don’t like it.

Why say this book is perfect for fans of John Green? This book is nothing alike to his works!!!

123680-425x300-mad1

I love John Green’s novels. His books are easy to read, very relaxing, and super fun. However, I’ll Give You the Sun is overrated to me. There were so so so many people suggesting me read this book. They were saying how good this book was, how awesome the writing was, and how good the romance was told.

Bubbles were burst when I read this book.

bubble-burst_large.jpg

I don’t like Noah. I don’t like him portrait this and portrait that. Yes, I know. Maybe this is one of the reasons why people think this book is special. But not me. I don’t have time to imagine how he portrait this and portrait that. I get it. He likes to keep his thoughts to himself because he has his own secrets. It’s not that I don’t like to read LGBT books. I love Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda a lot!

I don’t like Jude, either.

“Oh bloody hell, you scared me!” The deep, whisper English-accented voice is coming out of a bent-over guy on the altar picking up the candlestick he just knocked off. “Oh Christ! I can’t believe I just said bloody hell in church. And Christ, I just said Christ! Jesus!” He stands up, rests the candlestick on the table, then smiles the most crooked smile I’ve ever seen, like Picasso it. “Guess I’m damned.” There’s a scar zigzagging across his left cheek and one running from the base of his nose into his lip. “Well, doesn’t matter,” he continues in a stage whisper. “Always thought heaven would be crap anyway. All those preposterous puffy clouds. All that mind-numbing white. All those self-righteous, morally unambiguous goody two-shoes.” The smile and accompanying crookedness hijack his whole face. It’s an impatient, devil-may-care, chip-toothed smile on an off-kilter, asymmetrical face. He’s totally wild-looking, hot, in a let’s-break-the-law kind of way, not that I notice.

English guy again? Oh, please! Why there’s this English guy who just always seems hot and the main female character always grows fond of him?

JohnLocke.png
may you all grow fond of John Locke

I have a question though.  Is this book  categorised in YA?  I think it should be in New Adult genre.

I gave this book one out of five stars. I don’t recommend it to anyone, but y’all love it.

 

3 thoughts on “Review : I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

