Review : Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

71N-hAxibZL

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss? (From:Goodreads)

Paris + Romance = ?

This story is about a female senior, Anna Oliphant, chasing the thing that was best for her. Back home, in Atlanta, Georgia, she had her best friend and her colleague who was her crush. Here, in SOAP, Paris, she met a French/American/English guy, Etienne St. Clair. A new journey had just begun.

a50b33a20fbdee7d42b495e4f0192643.jpg

I decided to pick up this book because I’d heard so many good words about this book and my best friend kept asking me to read it. She was like, “This book is very cute. You’re so gonna love it!” Actually, I’ve been procrastinating it for 3 years. (It’s quite amazing that I can do the procrastination so well!) After struggling with my report of Vietnam War this morning, I picked up an easy reading book which fortuitously was this book.

paris.jpg

Okay, so for most of you guys who don’t know me that much, you could at least know these two things before you keep reading this review. First, I hate romance. Second, I’m lack of interest in Paris. (Really, no offence to any Parisian) Therefore, when romance collided with Paris, BOOM! this book was on my top dislike list all of a sudden. Now, if you’re still reading this, you may wonder whether I’m dumb since the title states the obvious that this book is about romance and Paris! Well…due to high praise of this book, I thought maybe this book could change my opinion on Paris and romance. However, I guess I just have too much insistence.

34fe0e734b4f9fd2b0acc819bb6e6123.jpg

Talking about Anna…could she stop thinking about boys and kisses for just a second? I hate her so much! Moreover, she made me not want to finish this book. When she first met Etienne, she acted as if a blind man saw the sun for the first time. There was only WOW-HES-SO-HANDSOME in her head. At the beginning, Anna kept telling herself that she and Toph, the colleague, might have something; besides, St. Clair had a girlfriend, Ellie. When Anna first met Ellie, she saw her as a bitchy girl. Nonetheless, she was stupid enough not to know that she herself was the bitch. I mean, she did go out with other girl’s boyfriend at night and get caught redhanded, didn’t she? (Yet she knew she wanted him and she hoped he could be more than a friend to her!)

About Etienne, this guy was seriously an asshole!

“I cheated on her everyday. In my mind, I thought of you in ways I shouldn’t have, again and again. She was nothing compared to you. I’ve never felt this way about anybody before-“

Oh, please! Shut the fuck up! Etienne was nothing more than a cheater. He would meet another gitl someday and would tell her the same platitude. And just because he was so good-looking, he could trick as many silly girls as he liked. (Damn! Do I watch too much Criminal Minds?)

516327.gif

Another thing I dislike about this book is that they were all so rich! It’s not my life. Anna didn’t think like me. I felt no connection when I read the story. My dad won’t send me to Paris just for fun and my parents definitely won’t take the flight to Paris with me even if I have a chance for exchange student. Who the hell does that? Taking flights from Atlanta to Paris as if biking in your neighbourhood. They were all talking rich which I couldn’t fit in!

53Ady.gif

I don’t recommend this book. 1 out of 5 stars because I can’t rate it zero star.

3 thoughts on “Review : Anna And The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

