Review : Symptoms Of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

“No,” another girl says.  “That has to be a…”
“Yeah, but look what it’s wearing.”
It.  She called me it.

We’re now in the 21st century.  The society is opener and so are we, so should we.
We’re not saying that nowadays more and more people have gender-identify issues.  We’re saying that more and more people are willing to embrace who they really are.  And all we need to do is support them.

Remembering that moment stirs something inside – anger, at first, and then a deep, hollow sadness that ripples through me in its own spiderweb pattern.

That’s really not cool mocking at kids who are different.  High schools suck.  Some kids either make fun of different ones or ignore, avoid them.

Gender identity is not external.  It isn’t dictated by your anatomy.  It’s internal.  It’s something you feel, not something you see – and it can be way more complicated than just male or female.

It’s about what you think in the inside rather than what others tell you to act on the outside.  You should always be you because others don’t owe you anything.  You don’t need to put on a show for them.

I think you assume everyone is going to be your enemy.  And by doing that, you sort of make it come true.

“And I know you think is superficial,” he says, “but the fact is : appearance matters.  People do judge books by their covers ; it’s human nature.  They react to the way you look before they hear a single word that comes out of your mouth.”

I know this is true.  My mother always feels me the same thing.  And it’s sad.  She says that you need to make yourself look good in order to impress others.
Why?  Why should I do that?  How do I do that?
To some people, I might look good in this way.  To others, I might look good in that way.
And it doesn’t really matter at all.
I don’t need to impress anyone.  I just need to make myself feel good.  Wear whatever I’m comfortable in.  Be whoever I am.

I’d like to praise for Jeff writing this book.  In this book, when Casey identified herself as a boy, the author started to refer Casey as a “he”.  I think this is pretty nice.

4 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Review : Symptoms Of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

